Asus Mobo w/ Intel 3.2E..conflict?? help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2004, 01:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 33
Default Asus Mobo w/ Intel 3.2E..conflict?? help

ok I just bought the Asus P4C800-E Deluxe and the Intel P4 3.2E CPU. The Processor has 1mb L2 cache and I just found out that the Asus Mobo supports only 512Kb L2 cache. Found out after
reading manual on page 1-2 . This is a new build and even a newer builder. Should I send this mobo back or can I configure something on Bios...Please advise.

jwatc75 is offline  
Old 05-15-2004, 04:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to D4RK GR4YL3N

have you tried putting it all together and seeing if it works? the board shouldsupport prescott cpus, and if not a simple bios flash should fix it. try installing it and it should work without problems

Athlon 64 @ 2.3 ghz
Chaintech mobo
9800 Pro
1 gig RAM
2x 160 gig sata
Audigy 2 zs
D4RK GR4YL3N is offline  
Old 05-15-2004, 05:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283

is it possible to underclock FSB??
My Spyware Site
Under Construction
becroydon is offline  
Old 05-15-2004, 07:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 33

Thanks for your reply.

I was thinking of putting it all together to see if it would work but this is my first build and wanted to make sure I had all right parts. I paid little extra for CPU w/1mb cache (still not sure why lol more is better right??) and wanted to be able to utilize it. I'm pretty sure it will run ok but by flashing the bios will the system be able to use the 1mb.

Thanks in advance
jwatc75 is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 10:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 33

Thanks for the reply Micro. Ok so it probably will work, do u know of a way I can test the system once its built to find out if it is using (or has the capability to) the full 1mb L2 cache?
jwatc75 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.