ARGHH, can't decide... amd vs. pentium - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2004, 10:05 PM   #31 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Get a 6600GT or you can do what I did. Buy an X600Pro and use a BIOS to flash it to an X600XT or make it run at the same speeds as an X600XT. If you need more then just Overclock. Currently, all Pentium 4s are 90nm and they run cool enough to be overclocked. I just don't know why everyone is *****in' about the Pentium 4s running hot and mine is OCed very high and it doesn't run hot on stock HS/F.

Make sure you get 2 x yyyMB sticks of DDR2 400/533 memory. They must be identical sticks to run Dual Channel. You should definately run Dual Channel since Pentium 4s need all the memory bandwith they can get. And Dual Channel provides them with twice the bandwith as running them in single channel.
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 10:13 PM   #32 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Stay away from the X600 series. Believe me, it sucks. In fact, the GeForce 6200 beats it.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 11:12 PM   #33 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

i'm definetly getting dual-channel ram. it's just that 240pin ram is really expensive

i htought the x700 would be better than the 6600gt because it has double the vram. or does that not matter?
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 11:20 PM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

it can matter but a 9600xt with 256 megs of RAM cant touch a 6800 vanilla with 128 mb of RAM, or even if they did make one with less RAM... the point is all that ram gets you about nowhere if the core and RAM dont run fast enough... on toms hardware the 9800 pro(with 128 mb) and the 9800 pro(with 256 mb) normally run within 1-2 FPS of each other... and the Xx00 series from ATI is complete ****... 6600 GT is alot better, ive seen 3 different sources say so from diff. benchmarking programs.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 11:39 PM   #35 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

thanks for the explanation.
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 11:43 PM   #36 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

is it possible to just have an external hd instead of an internal. it just seems more practical since i'd be able to move all of my data...
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 12:00 AM   #37 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

AMD ALL THE WAY....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 12:02 AM   #38 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

If you plan to have an OS on that hard drive, then no. I highly doubt the Windows setup will recognize an external HDD and allow you to install Windows onto it. You can have an internal HDD for the OS, and have an external for your data.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 12:04 AM   #39 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

i would suggest a high RPM harddrive for your OS and majorly important files and a massive external for all your files... however if you have old harddrives laying about, then just buy an external case for one, it turns an internal into an external drive.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 12:15 AM   #40 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

damn. then maybe i'll get a small 40gb hd for windows and linux, and then a nice external for everything else.

is this external hd good?
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...tCode=101208-8
__________________

jnev_89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.