argh!@ mb upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2005, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to downinfront
Default argh!@ mb upgrade

I was asked to check out a buddies new system. he upgraded his mobo to a ecs 848p-a everything was swapped mirror image, so same ide's and jumper settings' and now when you boot it, it hits the boot options and says a recent hardware or software change may have caused this, and it wont boot to a prompt, safe mode, or anyhting, it just restarts regardless and does the same thing. It will also not boot from a cd, I tried the mobo cd and damnsmalllinux. I do not know the old equip as he does not know. any help on where to get started would be good.
__________________

downinfront is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 01:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

What OS are you running? Have you gone to the BIOS and checked the boot sequence? Make sure it is set to boot from the CD first, and HDD second.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 01:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you have to do a repair install of your OS after you put in a new motherboard
if it is 2000 or XP, put in the OS CD on boot, at the first screen press enter to start install, go through a couple of screens until after you see "checking for previous versions of microsoft windows" and after that press 'r' to start a repair install
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 04:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

I think it would be better to completely reinstall Windows.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 05:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

yeah, i agree with m3trj a reinstall would be far better because then you wont have any of your old drivers, so there wouldnt ever be any conflicts.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 11:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to downinfront
Default

I repaired the install, everything seems to be going ok, I just needed a quick fix, its not my system and after I give it back, it wont be my problem. I was just doing a favor for a top level here at work.
__________________

downinfront is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.