argh!@ mb upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2005, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to downinfront
Default argh!@ mb upgrade

I was asked to check out a buddies new system. he upgraded his mobo to a ecs 848p-a everything was swapped mirror image, so same ide's and jumper settings' and now when you boot it, it hits the boot options and says a recent hardware or software change may have caused this, and it wont boot to a prompt, safe mode, or anyhting, it just restarts regardless and does the same thing. It will also not boot from a cd, I tried the mobo cd and damnsmalllinux. I do not know the old equip as he does not know. any help on where to get started would be good.

downinfront is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him

What OS are you running? Have you gone to the BIOS and checked the boot sequence? Make sure it is set to boot from the CD first, and HDD second.

Him is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 12:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

you have to do a repair install of your OS after you put in a new motherboard
if it is 2000 or XP, put in the OS CD on boot, at the first screen press enter to start install, go through a couple of screens until after you see "checking for previous versions of microsoft windows" and after that press 'r' to start a repair install
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 03:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574

I think it would be better to completely reinstall Windows.

\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'

m3trj is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 04:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670

yeah, i agree with m3trj a reinstall would be far better because then you wont have any of your old drivers, so there wouldnt ever be any conflicts.
<img src=\"\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 10:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to downinfront

I repaired the install, everything seems to be going ok, I just needed a quick fix, its not my system and after I give it back, it wont be my problem. I was just doing a favor for a top level here at work.

downinfront is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.