area 51 requirements - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2005, 11:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

yep it should be fine..

What does it mean ported? Like they simply make the PS2/XBOX game playable on a PC? Using the graphics that are built for a PS2/XBOX? That would suck Are all games that are both on a console and a PC built this way?
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 11:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default

hmm..i dont think all games are becuz halo for pc comes out way later doesnt it???so i would assume not all games do that
__________________

__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 01:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Win2kpatcher
yep it should be fine..

What does it mean ported? Like they simply make the PS2/XBOX game playable on a PC? Using the graphics that are built for a PS2/XBOX? That would suck Are all games that are both on a console and a PC built this way?
No, there have been many games that have been ported to PC such as Chronicles of Rid**** and Knights of the Old Republic that have been awesome on PC, with revamped graphics and everything. Area 51 is a direct port though, using the exact graphics you see in the Playstation 2 version, which sucks tremendously. Area 51 is the worst $30 i've spent in a long time.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 02:01 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
No, there have been many games that have been ported to PC such as Chronicles of Rid**** and Knights of the Old Republic that have been awesome on PC, with revamped graphics and everything. Area 51 is a direct port though, using the exact graphics you see in the Playstation 2 version, which sucks tremendously. Area 51 is the worst $30 i've spent in a long time.
wow! ok this was going to be my next game to purchase..but maybe not...I am still curious..since you hate it that much can you send it to me for free and Ill cover shipping?lol.. I've been playing that game PARIAH online a lot and it is really fun! So when you say direct port it basically would be like running a ROM on an emulator so to speak? You retain the exact graphics of that nintendo game, but you can play it on the PC? Or is that analogy wrong?
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 02:17 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Win2kpatcher
wow! ok this was going to be my next game to purchase..but maybe not...I am still curious..since you hate it that much can you send it to me for free and Ill cover shipping?lol.. I've been playing that game PARIAH online a lot and it is really fun! So when you say direct port it basically would be like running a ROM on an emulator so to speak? You retain the exact graphics of that nintendo game, but you can play it on the PC? Or is that analogy wrong?
Thats exactly how it is...its like playing an emulator, except the controls are a little better. But the graphics are every bit as hidious as they are on the now ancient Playstation 2.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 03:21 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Wasn't very impressed with pariah honestly....only played for about an hour and haven't really touched it since
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 06:11 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
If you think the graphics on Area 51 are good, you obviously haven't seen some of today's PC games such as Doom 3 and Half Life 2.
you have i point there, although i do have doom3 but i cannot run it higher than 600x800 at medium setting, so i have no idea what it could potentially look like. as for hl2, ive never seen it played.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.