Apollo Vid Cards? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2004, 05:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Question Apollo Vid Cards?

Well it seems there aren't too many 6600GT's being made for AGP.....I dont even think there is a 256mb 6600GT, that kind of sucks =/ But yeah I only found 3 makers on newegg, chaintech, apollo, and XFX...I have a chaintech card currently, but this one fried out and I had to RMA it and their tech support is decent and this one works like a champ, but their card also runs at 500/900 whereas the other two are 500/1000... I've heard XFX is a somewhat iffy brand, but also the Apollo is $229 and the XFX is $240....so I was wondering if it would be a worthy buy?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...140-048&depa=1
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 05:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

save some bucks, buy a crap

i've heard about XFX, but Apollo!! never.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 05:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol yeah I've never heard of apollo either, hence me asking

Chaintech and XFX seem iffy in my mind whereas Apollo I've heard nothing about so I needed some opinions. It seems the XFX is only more expensive simply because it comes with a bigger CD bundle than the others, ontop of the fact it has 1000MHz memory speed compared to chaintechs 900MHz

EDIT: Aha! I'm saved! I found an eVGA 6600GT at zipzoomfly for $229 and it's 1000MHz memory

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=322698
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 05:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

its written on chaintech site that its 900/1000 , so doesnt makes it 900 exactlly. as GT everywhere is deemed to be 350/1000
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 05:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
as GT everywhere is deemed to be 350/1000
Where did you get 350? The core is 500. But still I don't like the fact on every site that's selling chaintech it says 900MHz memory speed.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 06:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

6800 : core clock = 375, memory clock =700, pipelines = 12

6800 GT: Cc = 350, mem clock = 1000 , pipe lines = 16

6800 ultra: cc = 400, mem clock =1100 ppes = 16

6800 ultra Extreme: cc = 450, mem clock = 1100, pipes = 16

only 6600GT has 500 core clock with 8 pipelines on 110 nm technology.

rest 6800 are on 130nm.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 11:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Yadgadge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 83
Default

Search on www.pricewatch.com for "6600 GT AGP" also brings up Leadteak, Albatron, PNY, Aopen, and MSI versions of the 6600GT. (Sorry for bringing this back to the top but I didn't get online yesterday).

Nice price on the MSI one:
http://www.pagecomputers.com/cgi-bin/page/T0905882.html
Pricegrabber user ratings for this website are pretty good (over 1000 voters and has a 4 out of 5 star rating). I've never heard of them tho.

That site however gives no info on the MSI card so here's a link for that (doesn't have clock speeds listed that I see :
http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...D128&class=vga
__________________
In Your Face Space Coyote!

Soyo CK8 Dragon Plus
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
1GB PC3200 DDR
Thermaltake Polo 735 Heatsink
Leadtek WinFast 6600GT AGP
52x TDK CD-RW
16X Samsung DVD Burner 5X DL
30GB Western Digital 7200RPM HDD
250GB Maxtor Internal HDD
250GB Western Digital External HDD
Thermaltake Purepower 480W
Windows XP Home SP2
Antec ATX Case
Yadgadge is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 11:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

LMAO, that heatsink/fan on the first one is so ugly.
__________________

__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.