Apeture? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2005, 06:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to snafupen
Default Apeture?

i have an epox ep8kra2+ mobo and in bios it gives me this thing called AGP apeture size. i set it to 128 thinking that my graphics card is 128Mb cause it is, and the thing on the apeture gives you an option and each number has an M after (so the option for 128 looked like 128M). i looked it up in the manual and it says that the apeture is a section of the PCI memory address range used for graphics memory. can anyone translate this for me?

PS. i have a radeon 9600XT
__________________

__________________
S.N.A.F.U. specs...

-Epox EP-8KRA2+ with KT600 VIA chipset
-Athlon XP 2500+ Barton core
-160gb WD SATA
-Nvidia 6600GT agp
-1024 Mb Dual Channel DDR PC3200 corsair valueram
-Antec 430 Watt Truepower
-Windows XP Pro OS
snafupen is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

In general I think your Aperture Size should be set to a lesser amount than your VRAM, i.e in your case 64 MB. Be carefull not to set this to less than 64 MB though, I think it disables certain features...
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 07:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

I heard that one half of your RAM on the video card is good.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Set it to half of your system RAM, that is the correct sollution.
Note, if you have a gig of RAM, but are using AGP 4X, you can't get it past 256.

I have a gig of RAM, and a 9600XT, and I can't get it passed 256...

Good luck

Yan Booth
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 08:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to snafupen
Default

so, 2 votes for half of VRAM and one vote for half of sysRAM. anyone else?
__________________
S.N.A.F.U. specs...

-Epox EP-8KRA2+ with KT600 VIA chipset
-Athlon XP 2500+ Barton core
-160gb WD SATA
-Nvidia 6600GT agp
-1024 Mb Dual Channel DDR PC3200 corsair valueram
-Antec 430 Watt Truepower
-Windows XP Pro OS
snafupen is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 08:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

AGP Aperture is the amount of system RAM your video card will use when the video cards memory is used up. For me, since I'm overclocking my RAM, if I set it higher than 128mb I'll get instabilities. Personally in my experience, 128mb is a good place to set it whether you have 512mb or a 1gb, you won't notice any performance gains or decreases really.

Looking at your sig, I would just leave it at 128mb
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 08:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

128M is about the right size. Its rare on modern vid cards to need to use this, but usually what happens is 1/2 of the aperture size is actually used in block memory because 1/2 is used for uncached and the other is for write/ cache
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.