Aol Broadband Baby! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2003, 10:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default Aol Broadband Baby!

Today i was going through a HUB Magazine, which was about 3 months old or something, anyways for the people who dont know what HUB was, it was a computer magazine, usually filled with addds.

But! i seen a AOL Broadband add!
it said in canada, i was like wow, im saved, Down with Rogers, America came to the rescue.

SO i call up the tech support and the guy tells me, its average 1.5mbps, so you know, with my past difficulties with rogers, i figure what do i have to lose since rogers has fuxed me over for the last 2 years.

so yea im asking questions, h told me it should be actually faster then 1.5 mbps in ontario so im all happy n stuff, next you know, i ask him, is it availible for my house
boom, no its not.

=(

i got owned

but i see a clearer future for me, God Bless America
__________________

__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 12:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

Be glad that its not available for your area. I know people who have been using AOL broadband and they say that its even more of a rip-off then AOL Dialup... thats sad. Anything AOL is crap IMHO. Congrats on the clearer future and all.
__________________

__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 12:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

dude, stfu
You said you know people. you hvaent experienced it yourself, so you speak the words of others and not yourself.
They might be use to like T lines or something, so they could compare cable to crap.
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 04:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 39
Default

personally i like it...never going back to dial-up again ..unless of course i have too of course... and you can even have more than one name on the same account on at the same time reguardless if they are networked or not, and when you have kids thats not a bad thing at all... so now big papa can smack them off line from work.hahaha it's good to be the king
trugoy is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 11:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

Why stfu, that was pretty rude... AOL is a ****ty company.
Dont start a thread if you don't want peoples opinions on it.
__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 06:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

I considerd what you said a insult, not a opinion.
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 06:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

I dont like AOL, I dont like the way you download the browser and yu get a handfull of other **** that you dont need with it. I find it to be useless. I'd stick with rogers, or look into another ISP.
ADZ is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 06:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

i asked about the browser, they said theres no software u need to install.

and aswell, ive tryed looking for another cable company, only other one is Shaw, and its not availible.

other one that i found
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 06:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

How was what I said an insult? Do you work for AOL or something??
__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 06:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

I am using shaw right now. It kicks ***! prety fast. never ever down. Good service. the Customer Care / Tech Support aint bad either.
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.