anyone seen this error message before and know how to stop it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2005, 04:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default anyone seen this error message before and know how to stop it?

Blue screen pops up in the middle of playing games and tells me this

"PAGE_FAULT_IN_A_NONPAGED_AREA

bla bla bla bla

STOP: 0x00000050 (0x9fc7d740, 0x00000008, 0x9fc7d740, 0x00000000)"

looked it up and found nothing?? I get it usually about 5 minutes into the game. thing is, it doesnt error out in age of empires 2, just in 3d games like splinter cell pandora tomorrow, everquest 2, morrowind, americas army, etc... When i boot up i get an error report to send off to microsoft every time too. usaully having to do with the svhost.exe. and the technical data points to a file in my temp folder also. any ideas?
__________________

Thresh is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 04:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

yea that happened with my other computer when i was trying to play splinter cell pandora tomorrow and i figured out that its cause i had a 32 mb graphic card and it required at least 64mb
__________________

NewCents05 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

yeah well i have a 256mb video card so thats not the prob lol.... maybe the drivers??? i did a memory test with microscope and found no probs also
Thresh is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Check your Windows temp folder.Sounds like a virtual memory error.You are exceeding you page file size.Try a disk cleanup and veiw task manager to see were you page at.
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 04:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

AHH! BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH!

yeah i hate that screen, dam thing..

got updated dirvers for your vid card? =\
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 05:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Did you install SP1 just before this happened?
Samm is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 05:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

SP1 is pre installed if hes on xp pro as far as i know, but anyways i get that error everytime i try to scan my computer with nortan :-p anyways try to take your overclock down some to see if that helps any....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 05:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

best suggestion is to remove both overclocks of your video card and cpu, you need to verify if this occurs under normal operation or just when overclocking
__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 09:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

good point shadowfalls, ill try increasing my page file size also, didn't think of that
Thresh is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 10:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

didn't work.... still havent turned off my overclocking but thing is ive never had problems before oc'd. here is the error im getting from splinter cell

General protection fault!

History: FD3DRenderInterface::DrawPrimitive <- FCanvasUtil::Flush <- UCanvas::DrawTile <- UCanvas::DrawTileStretched <- UCanvas::execDrawTileStretched <- UObject::ProcessEvent <- (EchelonMainHUD 2_1_2_LAB.EchelonMainHUD2, Function EchelonHUD.EchelonMainHUD.s_Slavery.PostRender) <- FCameraSceneNode::PostRender <- UGameEngine::Draw <- UWindowsViewport::Repaint <- UWindowsClient::Tick <- ClientTick <- UGameEngine::Tick <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop
__________________

Thresh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.