Anyone have a desktop with a wireless network, and XP? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2005, 08:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default Anyone have a desktop with a wireless network, and XP?

Anyone using a desktop with a wireless network, and XP?

If so what card are you using? Brand and model would be nice, but if you don't know , then either or will work.

Did you have massive driver problems, or any other problems with the card?


Linksys WMP54G = massive driver problem
motorola wpci810G = card was DOA, will replace tomarro.
__________________

Sui is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 09:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I do, I do, I do!!!! I use Linksys Wireless G 54mpbs with a mixed network. No problems whatsoever. XP does a basic install for you but if you want it your wireless locked down, you need to configure it yourself.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 11:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 106
Default

I have used D-Link and Netgear PCI wireless cards in desktops. I have found too many compatability issues with Linksys.

With the Netgear, I use their utility for the wireless connection.

With the D-link, I use the windows wireless utility. I like the wireless utility that comes with SP2, it is cleaner and seems to have less issues than that which came with SP1.

In our shuttle PC's, we use this Wireless Module

Anyway it goes, make sure you get a "G" card and not a "B". "G" has a greater range and higher data transfer rate.
__________________
<b><a href=\"http://www.switchphase.net\" target=\"_blank\">Computer and I.T. solutions for small business</a></b><br><b><a href=\"http://www.laptoprepairdirect.com\" target=\"_blank\">Laptop Repair Direct</a></b>
switch is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 05:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

i have a linksys wag54g router and 2 desktops linked to it, both are wireless b, 1 dlink card and one cheap ebuyer brand card. ive had loads of problems with it, it likes to disconnect or lag both of them, mine comp has got a wire to it and i have very few problems. so i dont know
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 06:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by switch
I have found too many compatability issues with Linksys.
rate.
Damn I could have used that info before I bought that card. I'm really starting to consider a wired network, for all the time and resources I spent on this 'simple' wireless network I could have crawled into the crawl space under this house and installed cat5 cables at 12 foot intervolts in every room.

Found out the motorola card wasn't doa, but still didn't get it working, says unable to start, so in addition to not being able to put a backing plate on correctly, they also can't make a driver.

3 out of 40 views, so thats 8 out of a 100 people have wireless networks, but its probably less then 4 when you factor in people that have no technical skill, and that people here will have been into computers longer, and thus have a network to go wireless. So wow 3-4% of computer people are in market for wireless pci cards. Figure about 8 companys competing for that 3-4%, I guess I know why they never update the driver huh?

gezzz what a waste of my time and money. I have a gaming computer that can play solitare....... wow I could do that on my laptop. I better stop before this turns into a rant.
Sui is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.