Any way to add more RAM slots to a motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2005, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 103
Default Any way to add more RAM slots to a motherboard?

I have 3 SODIMM SDRAM left from a broken down laptop that I've retrieved; my other laptop has only 2 RAM slots and they're both filled up. Is there any way that I can put these 3 RAM chips into use without having to modify the motherboard (like through ports maybe or any other way)? The 3 are 64 MB each; the 2 in my current laptop are 128 MB each, so there is no benefit in me just switching the RAM chips.
__________________

strategist333 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 12:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default

That is not possible.
__________________

__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 12:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

well. there is a...no wait, ITS IMPOSSIBLE!!!!!!
get a new mobo.

IMPOSIBLE
IMPOSIBLE
IMPOSIBLE
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 12:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

No...
Yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 02:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you want more RAM, get bigger modules and/or a motherboard with more slots
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 11:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

To hell with that, get a new mobo or something.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 12:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Because you've got a laptop i think the only option you have is removing current SODIMMs and installing higher capacity ones...but observing the limits too.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.