Any AMD's 800fsb processors? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2004, 03:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default Any AMD's 800fsb processors?

I am just wondering how come AMD's faster than intel when non of the Athalon XP's (best of AMD 32 bits) processors have 800FSB.

How AMD is faster?
__________________

linux1880 is offline  
Old 05-15-2004, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Athlon XP aren't faster than P4's.....AMD64's are mostly because they have an onboard memory controller which mean the FSB is basicly as fast as teh processor itself

Plus, AMD's are much more efficient than P4's making better use of a shorter pipeline and thus being able to run at lower clock speeds. The P4 needs to be fast to make it's longer pipeline work
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 05-15-2004, 06:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Merlin
Athlon XP aren't faster than P4's.....AMD64's are mostly because they have an onboard memory controller which mean the FSB is basicly as fast as teh processor itself

Plus, AMD's are much more efficient than P4's making better use of a shorter pipeline and thus being able to run at lower clock speeds. The P4 needs to be fast to make it's longer pipeline work
dont forget the amount of heat produced by you beloved athlons
becroydon is offline  
Old 05-15-2004, 08:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by becroydon
dont forget the amount of heat produced by you beloved athlons
"you beloved athlon"

Wow, thats a remarkable comeback and form of english you have there
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

come on man, we all make mistakes when we type fast
becroydon is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 05:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default

So that means AMD is slower than pentium. I was in illusion.
linux1880 is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 07:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rajunpl
So that means AMD is slower than pentium. I was in illusion.
No, not quite......Athlon XP's aren't as good as the P4's when you get the P4's to around 2.8ghz, because from there the speed of the P4 can make excellent use of the longer pipeline.

The AMD64 however with it's onboard memory controller is far superior to the P4's currently and are looking to maintain that lead for atleast another 18 monthes or so


My rule of thumb: Celeron < Athlon XP < P4 < AMD 64

Athlon XP are very good CPU's if your on a budget and can't afford the higher clocked P4's
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 09:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

as far as I've seen, if you take equivalently priced AMD and Intel processors, I find that the AMD is faster, and in the end, isn't it all about price
__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 05:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 43
Default

Ive seen alot of computers and Ive never seen much difference in the performance of AMDs Vs Intels

If your using desktop programs then just go with the intel wth hyperthreading

If your going for games, dont worry about the processor, worry about the video card

Ive seen P3s with top notch cards(The best you can get with P3s) beat P4s with sucky cards
__________________

__________________
Awww Damn it!!! My computer is on fire again
NCISAGENT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.