Antistatic bag needed? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2009, 02:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
jesspren6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 266
Default Antistatic bag needed?

When I was building my computer my dad threw away the antistatic bag for my motherboard. I rma'd my board and I need to ship it back but I don't have an antistatic bag and nobody has one big enough or sells them around here. As you know the rma is only good for 7 days so would it be alright to pack everything up and ship it? Carnage has built computers and handled components before with a fleece sweatshirt on haha, with no problems so this shouldn't be an issue, right?
__________________

__________________
Make easy money by joining http://cashcrate.com/185982 and doing surveys. 100% free and doesn't require a credit card.
jesspren6 is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 02:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Antistatic bag needed?

i doubt they will make a big fuss, but if you can get your hands on one it would certainly be better. Just make sure it's in some kind of protective case though.
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 02:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
jesspren6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 266
Default Re: Antistatic bag needed?

Its in a plastic molding in the retail box, but is there anything I could put around it that could be found around the house, like saran wrap lol?
__________________
Make easy money by joining http://cashcrate.com/185982 and doing surveys. 100% free and doesn't require a credit card.
jesspren6 is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 02:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Antistatic bag needed?

Saran Wrap is not anti-static. There is not any common house hold items i know of that are anti-static. Aside from stuff used with PC's.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 02:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
jesspren6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 266
Default Re: Antistatic bag needed?

Ya, that is what I was thinking. Thanks for your help, I will just package it up good with the accessories and ship it out tomorrow.
__________________
Make easy money by joining http://cashcrate.com/185982 and doing surveys. 100% free and doesn't require a credit card.
jesspren6 is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 02:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default Re: Antistatic bag needed?

Tin foil is anti-static. If you removed the CMOS battery from the mobo and wrapped it in tin foil, it'd be fine.

I quite regularly remove faulty PCBs from control panels and AC motor inverter drives and most manufacturers recommend wrapping them in tin foil (after removing any power sources and discharging capacitors) when I send them back.

Yep, I know it sounds mental, and you probably shouldn't wrap your mobo in tin foil to RMA it, but it's true...

EDIT: Actually I'm going to insist that you DON'T use tin foil, just to be sure. I'd feel guilty if you forgot to remove the battery!
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 02:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Antistatic bag needed?

LOL......hahahahaa
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-09-2009, 12:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Antistatic bag needed?

Saran Wrap is a BAD idea, as it works on the idea of being staticaly charged. IMO, piece bags together and use tin tape that is used on are conditioning ducts to make a new bag, a few made into one big one... Just so they can't say it wasn't shielded.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI 9200SE vs. Linux... 95BlackGA Linux and Open Source 8 10-19-2008 01:05 AM
Could a ziploc bag damage a USB drive? delerious Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-19-2008 12:33 AM
What weight punching bag should I get??? dario03 Off Topic Discussion 1 04-02-2008 05:10 PM
Help needed Spud5437 System Upgrades 2 01-21-2008 06:54 AM
Some Applications Arent Able to Connect to a Remote Server as Needed quazia83 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 06-25-2007 01:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.