anti static wrist - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2005, 08:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default anti static wrist

Hey
anybody used a lindy anti static wrist before
i was going to buy an anti static wrist from belkin but it is no longer available on amazon's site

instead they are selling lindy. anybody know anything about them

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/...494963-9202036


also i came across a 55 piece toolkit on amazon.

what are your views on this toolkit
http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/...Fencoding=UTF8

i am using my leatherman for anything to do with my computer
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 08:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

meh who needs anti static.. just plug ur PSU into the wall and touch that every now and then.. that or dont bother.. theres not enuf static on ur fingers to kill stuff unless your retarded and rub carpet all day long
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 08:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

You can buy an ESD strap, ElectroStatic Discharge strap, at most computer stores, but they usually keep them hidden. You can find them at CompUSA, BestBuy, and computer junk stores. They are usually between 8 to 10 bucks. I use one. Better safe then sorry. Because I look at it this way. Its like a condom, its better to have it and not need it, then to need it and not have one. I use it because alot of my work is done on the carpet, since there is not enough available safe, hard surface to work on.
__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 08:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

i am known as the van de graf generator, when i walk, i generate so much static.

i am in the UK, and have to go through amazon.co.uk

amazon.co.uk is only doing lindy's, what do you think fo them

also what are your thoughts on the 55 piece kit
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 09:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

I have quite a few of them just never used them. too confining, just ground yourself.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 10:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

They should be available in any local electronic store man. Cheaper too. Who cares about the actual brand..
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 02:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I use a AS Wriststrap all the time. I also bought a 23.5-in x 47.25-in antistatic mat as my work surface. You can buy it here.
http://www.ultraproducts.com/product...roducts_id=120
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 03:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

kinda much don't you think just for a mat. I don't know how Anti static bands are used please tech me.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 04:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

i am really worried about static right now cause i'm about ti ubstall my mobo. I am going to work on a wooden table with a tile floor, do i need a wristband or should i be all right?
__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 12:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

FOr any one I would recomend to have one as a precaution. Its up to you if you want to use it. I just one, but not every one uses one. If you dont use one, just have one hand on the case with the psu installed and plugges in, that will keep you and your hardware safe.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.