Antec True550 PSU, Voltages too low? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2005, 12:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default Antec True550 PSU, Voltages too low?

Antec True550 550W Power Supply

I just received this today (bought it on Newegg for $107), and under bios these are the output levels (V):
3.3 ~ 3.18
5 ~ 4.83
12 ~ 11.81

Are these way too low/should the PSU be replaced? I just hate the waiting...so much of it :P

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 01:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

BIOS might be reading it wrong. Use a multimeter if you have one to measure the voltages to be sure...but honestly the voltages should be more 'on target' than that. Up to 5% fluctuation is normal, but your +3.3v line is dipping damn near past the 5% mark which is bad for the RAM...not meaning it'll destroy it but meaning it'll cause instabilities.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 04:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

I agree with Nubius.

The Antec "true" should be more accurate than that.
I would check to be sure of the "actual" voltages and
if the Antec is off that much I would return it.

For what its worth, my Antec True430 has the following
numbers:

+3.3V ~ 3.296
+5V ~ 4.999
+12V ~ 11.872
ImUseless is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 04:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default

Ok I just used a multimeter and tested them via the 20 pin, and it read as follows:
Full ~ No Load ~ Under Load (Tested with Prime95 'torture test')
3.3 ~ 3.31 ~ 3.3
5 ~ 5.01 ~ 5.01
12 ~ 11.97 ~ 11.96

Should I care about the 11.97/11.96 (being a new PSU)?

thanks for the advice, it's nice to know my Mobo sucks for reading the voltages Hehe. So thank you both, Nubis and ImUseless!
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 06:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

It seems to be working fine, but check the numbers
you got with your manual.

The PS seems to be working within the allowable range
of +/- 3% for output, and the 5.01 volts seems fine for
the max of 6.5 volts over voltage on the +5v rail.

BTW, the actual Max Output for the +3.3V, +5V, and +12V
rails are "actually" 530W.
ImUseless is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 07:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Those numbers are great
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 09:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

i also have the true550, i'll see what number's i'm getting a little later.
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 10:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

those numbers are perfect. 11.96 is fine. like I said 5% fluctuation is normal and 11.96 is nowhere near 5% of 12. It's not until your 11 drops down to 11.5 or lower that you gotta worry
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 12:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Yes those voltages are good.

I have a different model of the antec 550w truepower (eps12v), and through asus probe I get the following numbers:

12.12
4.92
3.294
1.696 (v-core)

Is it typical that the 12v line is over 12volts?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 01:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Is it typical that the 12v line is over 12volts
Hope so cause my Thermaltake shows 12.10 constantly unless under full load
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.