antec sonata PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2005, 07:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default antec sonata PSU

Hi
Does the antec sonata have a 20 pin PSU or a 24 pin PSU?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 07:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

who cares

it doesnt matter
they are interchangable

you can do the research yourself lazyass
www.antec.com

20-pin
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 07:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Here's a link to the tech/ support page for the True380S (the PSU for the Antec Sonata):
http://www.antec.com/us/support_prod...?ProdID=20381#

According to the PDF manual (click the link on the page that says 'Manual') it has a 20-pin connector.

EDIT: Gee, Sport, you snuck in while I was checking Antec's site... Not everyone knows where to look, ya know?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 07:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

20 pin

don't try to use a 20pin on a 24pin mobo, even though it'll work
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 07:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
20 pin

don't try to use a 20pin on a 24pin mobo, even though it'll work
Thats what I'm doing and I have no problems.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 06:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

i did have a look on the antec site before i posted but it confused me

i looked at the antec sonata's PSU data sheet and saw 20 pins. but at another point it mentions that it is compatible with PCI express mobo's.

i thought PCI express require the 24 pin variant of PSU's, so that confused me

i came across posts on another forum where you can use 20 pins on 24 pins but you got to know which 4 pins to leave out. i also came across a post where some one had actually fried his mobo
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.