Antec NeoPower - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2005, 01:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 34
Default Antec NeoPower

Im upgrading my Cheapo PSU

Has anyone used the Antec NeoPower

Im sure with the Antec Name it has to be good, but just want to get a consensus
__________________

osubuckeyes is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 01:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 252
Default

well they made a movie out of him it so im guessing its good
__________________

__________________
TERRORZONA REPRAZENT
pwnzer
onyo is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 01:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

I just ordered the Antec NeoPower 480 from newegg for $111 plus a $30 mail in rebate and like a $2 instant rebate. Maximum did a very intensive review of 7 power supplies a few months back and this one came out the champion with a rating of ten out of ten. It even beat a psu from PC Power and Cooling. Maximum PC REALLY torture tested these things. That wannabe Ultra X-connect started smoking so they had to abandon the test lol. You might be able to find the article online, not sure. I'm sure this psu will serve you well.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 01:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It's a great Power Supply


However I really dont think it can hold a candle to PCP&C
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 265
Default

I have version 1 of the 480 watt Antec Neopower. Its very good. Only 2 thing i dislike about it...

1) Version 1 only has a 120mm fan. Does the job but can still get pretty toasty.

2) Antec state on the box that by only plugging in the power cables you need, you will save space inside your case and increase airflow. However i found this not to be the case. The wires are sooo dam long they clutter up my case much more than my old PSU did.

Tis nice and quiet though
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3200+
160GB WD HDD
1GB Corsair 400Mhz DDR RAM
Leadtek 6600GT @ 575/1103
Lite-On DVD/RW
480 Watt Antec NeoPower
17\" LG TFT
haGGard is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 06:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 88
Default

I've got it and love it. Just about the only thing in this crazy computer that's stable...
Luxar is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 06:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
It's a great Power Supply


However I really dont think it can hold a candle to PCP&C
Antec PSUs are really 2nd only to PCP&C, and its not like antec is settling. ur getting a quality PSU
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.