Another Two monitor question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2004, 12:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Jarik :: Tentsu
Default Another Two monitor question

Prolly been asked before but...


I've got a MSI nVidia GeForce FX 5200-TD 128 MB right.

It's got an Analog Video Out and a Digital Video Out (DVI-O).

Now i've got a CRT monitor and a LCD monitor. Is it possible to have the LCD going through the DVI and the CRT going through the Analog and the Vid Card acting as a dual monitor device? Or would i need to buy another newer Vid card that supports two monitors?

Also, if i wanted OVER two monitors, what would i need?
__________________

Jarik :: Tentsu is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 12:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

i think you should be able too . . .

and you would need one of those KICK-@$$ comps and vid cards for 3+ monitors
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 01:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

Yes, you can use the DVI. You might need to buy and adapter unless one was supplied. I currently have three monitors running on my system. A Radeon 9800 pro(1 and 2) and a PCI Radeon 7000 power(3rd monitor) them. I used the Radeon 7000 because I don't use it to play games.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 01:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

yes is it possible to connect 2 monitors, but as spartan said, yull need an adapter. And then configur windows, it should pop up, and read instructions from there.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 07:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Jarik :: Tentsu
Default

Okay, I've got the DVI-I to VGA connector and i put it on the DVI-I output. But it still transmits no data to the screen and it just stays blank.

From DVI-I to VGA, does that actually change it from Digital to Analog? or just change the connector?

Or is it a setting on the Display Settings or something?
Jarik :: Tentsu is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 11:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

Right-click on an empty space on the desktop, click on "Properties" then in the window that pops up, click on the "Settings" tabs. You should see two boxes representing your monitors. One will be grayed out, click on that one then put a check in the "Extend my windows desktop onto this monitor. Then click "Ok" and you should be good to go. One more thing, you can change how the monitors are arranged, click and drag to rearrange them.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.