another bad xfx? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2005, 11:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to panish
Default another bad xfx?

I just got alot of new hardware and have already been experiencing blue screen errors

i have a dfi LanParty UL NF4 ultra-d
Athlon 64 3200

and

xfx 6600gt

the card appears to be what is causing the blue screens i get errors such as

Error Message: STOP 0x000000EA THREAD_STUCK_IN_DEVICE_DRIVER (Q293078)

the blue screens go away almost immedietly so i only get this info through windows error reports

i have heard bad things about xfx cards so this was the first thing i though of when i got these errors

does it look like the card is the culprit?


thanks
__________________

panish is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 11:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

reload the drivers...as usual...dont' you mean FX 6600 GT, not XFX 6600 GT? what's the x in front of the fx stand for?
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 11:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

"the brand XFX " make sure all your chipsets are up to date run memtest
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 12:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default

i have herd mixed reviews from XFX products.

There meant to be pretty decent,
on the other hand, i have herd alot of bad ones.

it seems u get a really good quality card from XFX, or a really bad one.

this is the second time a XFX 6600GT has gone bad that ive herd of.

the only thing i can recommend is to realod the drivers, or unistall, remove card etc. then reinstall.

Other than that its prob faulty
Chrono is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 07:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah the XFX is a great peforming and Overclocking card, but WAAAY too many of them break.

Don't bother with trying to do much to the card, uninstall \ reinstall drivers and if it happens again RMA it on the spot.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 02:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

I'd like to hide this thread from everyone if i could...especially Nubius.....LOL

Just an observation with regards to XFX Geforce 6600GT not working - Most posts about this card are with regards to AMD processors, Why?

Please read before replying - I said "Most posts" not all posts, "some" (but very few) are with intel processors.

Panish - all i can say is that i found some troubles with my XFX 6600gt when i first installed it but after downloading the latest legit ("not beta") driver there have been no problems except now i can't stop playing BFVietnam and Rome Total War. Also have you called their XFX customer support line? They have really crappy hours but they might be able to help you.
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 02:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MADWAD

Just an observation with regards to XFX Geforce 6600GT not working - Most posts about this card are with regards to AMD processors, Why?

Please read before replying - I said "Most posts" not all posts, "some" (but very few) are with intel processors.
Because we're an intelligent bunch that like hardware which performs as its supposed.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 02:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

AMD does not cause the problem, but since the 6600GT is a gamers card, and the AMD is a gaming processor, people witha 6600GT most likely have AMD
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 02:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

AMD 64 processors also make good stable office machines that'll run forever. I wonder how long it'll take for everyone to catch onto that
, And start using them in the office.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 05:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

Wow! You AMD guys get VERY defensive.......and it's really funny. LOL I didn't mean anything by it , so calm down and don't jump down my throat. I'm getting an AMD processor in my next computer so chill the f out. And just for the record i'm sure AMD is not designed specifically for gaming, that would just be dumb. It might perform better gaming wise than intel but it's not made just for gaming DJ-Chris "AMD is a gaming processor".remember typing that? Thats like calling Intel processors editing processors. Anyways besides this crap next time you decide to post , try to help or answer the subjects question. You can respond to this with some really stupid reply but unless i can help panish in some way i won't waste the time posting back.
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.