Annoying wireless mouse & keyboard problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2005, 09:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 273
Default Annoying wireless mouse & keyboard problems

OK so a few weeks back I purchased a Belkin wireless mouse and keyboard. I researched them and was confident I'd got the best bang for the buck. For the first week they worked faultlessly, with my receiver on the floor just next to the base unit. I then had a technical guy come to fix some other problems with the PC(replace PSU, CPU fan and troubleshoot some other issues) and after he had done a few things he say's "This mouse is sluggish". I dunno if it's coincidence but since he came and worked on the PC both the mouse and keyboard haven't always worked properly. I'm starting to think it might be a BIOS issue cos he did change a few things in it for other reasons.

Since then I've done a fresh install of XP and replaced my graphics card and I now have to have the receiver right next to the mouse for it to work properly, and even then it sometimes acts up. Bizarrely, it sometimes stops responding completely if I change graphical resolution to a really high setting, and when I play FIFA 2005 the keyboard and mouse barely respond at all. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers and having brand new batteries in both etc but to no avail. I also can't find any newer drivers. It seems strange it used to work fine with the receiver on the floor and now I have to have it right next to the mouse and keyboard.

I know the consensus will probably be to buy a wired mouse and keyboard but I don't have any spare cash at the moment(spent a lot on this PC recently) so that is out. Is this a problem in device manager or the bios maybe? Something is wrong because it used to work faultlessly. All help and suggestions will be much appreciated.

__________________

Humbucker is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

If it's a wireless mouse, it's probolly wireless interference. Or the mouse and keyboard are on their way out.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 12:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

yeah i bought a compaq set and after 3 weeks, the mouse stopped connecting to the base. Didnt work at all... So it was after the 14 day replacement period so i could do nothing about it.
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 03:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 273
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
If it's a wireless mouse, it's probolly wireless interference. Or the mouse and keyboard are on their way out.
I dunno what could be interfering with them. And I bought the mouse and keyboard brand new just a month or so ago, so I doubt it would be that.
Humbucker is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 03:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Oh yeah you also know you should have to charge / replace the battery's on it?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 05:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

he said he did that dj
Static_11 is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 07:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 273
Default

I know I should probably just get a wired mouse/keyboard as they're much more reliable but I can't right now so I just wanna be able to do what I want to with these without any problems.
Humbucker is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 09:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

yeah wired2win :P


Go have some fun throwing that keyboard and mouse at the wall. :P
Xiahou is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 07:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 273
Default

Something must cause this problem, cos for a while they worked perfectly - anyone have any ideas?
Humbucker is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 12:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

sounds like they're busted. I offer no advice but to let your frustration out on the mouse and keyboard. Are you a pyro? Just thought I'd throw that out there.

Invest in a wired optical mouse.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.