Annoying modem problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2004, 04:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 34
Default Annoying modem problems

I bought a new external modem because my internal one was defective. I thought it would clear up this problem as well as the others. Well it cleared the others but not this. Every time I click connect it dials a few tones then beep, beep, beep and stops and fails. It does this a few times randomly. Then after a few tries it works and dials the whole thing and I connect. But as I said it's random, sometimes I connect on the first try sometimes it takes five until it works. I've tried adding commas to the phone number, no luck.


And another problem has arisen. Once in a while, when I start the computer up the modem is not working. The lights on it are not on and the dialup connection box says it's not connected when it is perfectly. I have to shut down the computer, plug out and in the wires and start it up again for it to work. Then it works but in a few days or a week it does it again.

BTW I have latest Norton AV updates and Zonealarm Firewall. Win98SE computer.
__________________

PCNewbie is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 06:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 425
Default

hmmm. i'l put in my lousy 2cents.
all i have 2 say is check commas. and connectors for power issue.check cord
ect normal crap
i use a number wont disclose

ex
itried.

xxxxxxx,xxx nope
xxxxxxx,, nope

then
xxxxxxx,,, worked

__________________

__________________
AMD>INTEL
ATI>NVIDIA

C++
JAVA
JAVASCRIPT
PERL
REEF
LISP
PYTHON

good at Java, mastered Java Script, learning C++ some more, and have not done alot with the others.
winblowz is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 01:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 34
Default

OK I understand Microbell but not Winblowz. Don't quite understand what you mean.
PCNewbie is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 08:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 172
Default

Whats the make and model of the modem?
heavywx is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 03:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 34
Default

BTW I tried everything Mircobell said nothign worked.

It's a PCLine USB 56k modem, model num. is MD200
PCNewbie is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 05:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

Try reinstalling(better still updating) the modem driver.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 06:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 172
Default

THe only thing I can think if is, to make sure you don't have any - (dashes) anywhere in the string of numbers your modem is dialing out to.
__________________

heavywx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.