Annoying error message. need help to fix - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2005, 03:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to bumpkins
Default Annoying error message. need help to fix

i get an error message everytime i play counter-strike source. it reads:
The instruction at "0x24187f95" referenced memory at "0x00bc9530". The memory could not be "read".

Can someone help me as to whats going on?
should you need info on my system its a
CPU: AMD Athalon 64 3100+
MB: MSI K8N Neo
Vid Card: ATI Radeon 9550 256mb
Ram: DDR PC3200 512mb

PLEASE HELP!
__________________

bumpkins is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 03:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Download memtest86+ and run it to make sure your RAM isn't causing you the problems.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 03:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to bumpkins
Default

thnx! if it is what do i do?
bumpkins is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 03:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well there's only one thing you could do. Get new RAM. If it's busted it's busted, no way to fix it
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 03:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to bumpkins
Default

oh ok.
bumpkins is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 03:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah, probably not the kind of info you wanted to hear. But I doubt you're overclocking right?

And if you're not, and your RAM gives you errors, then it's just a faulty stick.

If it's not giving you errors, then it could be drivers in windows causing the problem although that specific error is referring to RAM
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 03:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to bumpkins
Default

thnx alot man ill try it! i just hope i dont have faulty ram
bumpkins is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 03:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to bumpkins
Default

another question, how come it only happens when i play counter-strike source? it never happens when i play counter-strike 1.6
bumpkins is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 03:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Hmm....the best answer I could give is simply CS wouldn't be as demanding as source perhaps.

If the RAM's not faulty, it could be you need to try a new set of drivers for your graphics card, beyond that it could be the same reason KoToR: II on my computer, will show certain part of the graphics flashing like the card can't render it, yet it doesn't do it on any other game =/

Still trying to figure that out. So yeah if it's not the RAM then it's one of the weird crap that happens with computers and you can only simply try new drivers, perhaps rolling back to SP1 if you're using SP2 although I wouldn't jump to that immediately
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.