AMI Bios problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2004, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to seCuredData Send a message via Yahoo to seCuredData
Question AMI Bios problem

Beep codes are indicating a 64k memory failure. According to what is stated in the AMI Megatrend POST guide. Can someone elaborate on 64k memory failure?

seCuredData is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 04:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194

So, the system beeps three times and tells you it has a 64k memory failure? If this is the case try reseating the module and if it still gives the error codes replace the module it is bad.

Crucial Performance Lab
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to seCuredData Send a message via Yahoo to seCuredData

I tried another stick of RAM, I do not know if that is bad or not also. It gives me the same error when there is no RAM on the board. Is it possible its the motherboard? I don't think the board is worth getting another stick of RAM over. If I were to abandon this board could I be able to use the CPU without it damaging another mobo? I think the mobo got shorted, this case is very odd. When I attach a screw in a certain area the motherboard won't power at all or for half a second and shuts down. When I remove the screw it powers up like normal but with beep error. And if I put a screw in another spot it will power up with out giving me beep error, but there is still no video. I also tried screw sheilds to keep it from shorting the motherboard from the case, but it doesn't work. I am only able to screw one area, and another area very lightly to get it to power and give me POST.
seCuredData is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.