AMD's X85 CPUs; ATI X1900 Price cuts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2006, 07:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default AMD's X85 CPUs; ATI X1900 Price cuts

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=30066

There are going to be three new dual core proccessors, all running at 2.6GHz, the 185, 285, and the 885. The 885 is at the ridiculous price of $2,145 USD. The 285 however is priced about the same as the FX-60 and the 185 isn't priced yet (and should cost less then the FX-60. The good thing about this is current CPUs price will drop.

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=30078

This is some great news, especially since I'm buying an X1900XT soon. Newegg is going to be selling X1900XTX in OEM versions for $499. Hopfully this will drop the X1900XT down to somewhere down to somewhere around 400 bucks or less since Newgg is selling OEMs at 450 bucks. Nvidia's going to have to do something otherwise ATI is going to pull ahead.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

good finds beefcake!

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 03:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default Re: AMD's X85 CPUs; ATI X1900 Price cuts

Quote:
Originally posted by Beefcake
The 885 is at the ridiculous price of $2,145 USD
thats more then my whole PC........wait whats the diffrence between the 3 if they are all running at 2.6?....
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 12:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

my guess is one would have 512kb l2 cache*2, the other 1mb*2, and the most expensive, 2mb*2!! KABOOM!
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 09:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I will have to say that an extra 2mb l2 cache is not worth an extra $1,100 dollars. And dual core opterons never went under 1mb cache per core but there could be chance that is what they are doing.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 11:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I hope the prices drop alot cause I am waiting to purchase a CPU, Motherboard, and RAM. Everything else I bought already.

Nice find BTW
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 11:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default Re: Re: AMD's X85 CPUs; ATI X1900 Price cuts

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
thats more then my whole PC........wait whats the diffrence between the 3 if they are all running at 2.6?....
The difference between the 185, 285 and 885 (and all 1xx, 2xx, and 8xx) opterons is scalability. With the 185 or other 1xx opteron, you can have only one CPU. With the 285 (and 2xx), you can use two together and with the 885 (and 8xx), you can use 4. The 2xx and 8xx are only used in servers.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 06:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Haha, that was amusing, you guys not knowing what the Opteron 2xx and 8xx were, heh. Yea, 4 x Opteron 885 in one system... Thats 8 cores right there. 8 cores fugging at 2.6GHz each.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
Default

yeah, supermultitasking, great for servers. waste of time for a standard PC.
__________________

__________________
Biostar T-force 4U,Opteron 148@2.6Ghz.CorsairXMS DDR500-2gigs,EVGA7800GT CO.Seagate160gigSATA II,Koolance ICM 510 watercooling,Coolermaster Stacker830
cobalt817 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.