AMD64 Processor FSB - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2005, 12:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default AMD64 Processor FSB

Hey guys this is probably a stupid as hell question but i just wanted to make sure. Im pretty sure i know the answer but again i could be wrong. I am about to order my processor and was on newegg and there are two

both amd 64 venice core 3200+ 939. One says FSB integrated into chip the other says 1ghz fsb.

I know the fsb is integrated but why does the second one say 1ghz and other just says integrated. I think all 939 venices are 1ghz so im guessing its the same but the other one just decided to give the actual readout?? thanks

Aaron

edit: i thought they were the exact same except for the wording and that one came without heatsink and fan (the one that said integrated fsb) but the voltages are diff too heres a link to both to make it easier if needed.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103534

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535
__________________

AlmightyAaron is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 12:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

All AMD64s have the memory controller built into the chip, therefore the FSB is intergrated into the chip. This creates a high bandwidth low latency bus which is called the hypertransport bus which operates at 1GHz. The 1GHz hypertransport bus operates in the same sense as the FSB so some retailers label them the same, however they are different.

So to answer your question, AMD64s technically have no FSB, but instead have a 1GHz HTT bus
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 12:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

gotcha thanks alot i thought as much..o btw gaara ive been reading these forums and seen you post alot and always wondered what anime thats in your sig and avatar? sorry off topic but looks cool

Aaron
AlmightyAaron is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 12:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

naruto

www.narutofan.com

I have to whore it when I get a chance like this handed to me
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 12:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

haha looks pretty cool ill have to check it out. Not big into Anime, just some. One i did like was Samurai Champloo if you heard of that. Pretty cool anime
AlmightyAaron is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.