AMD64: Heatsink/Fan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2004, 12:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default AMD64: Heatsink/Fan

Hi everyone!

My CPU is getting into the mid 60's on full loads, so I want to get a new heatsink/fan. The stock ones aren't really that great.

Does anyone know of anything good, and which hardware sites ship to Canada?

Thx for your time! I appreciate it.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 12:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

AMD 64 and u r crying at 60??

what u want it to be? - 60

zalman 7000cu (see for exact model)
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

I want it to be at max 50 on full loads! 65 C is quite hot for an 64.
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 12:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

dont worry, AMD 64's wont die due to thermal death at least.

this was the major drawback in earlier models of AMD's. now nobody's the match.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 03:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

what specific 64 is it?

i have a 3200+ clawhammer and i run comfortably between 35-40C for idle and 48-52 full load

Case circulation>new Heatsink/fan

Also make sure to use Artic Silver 5 instead of that gunk they give you from AMD although it served me well for the 3 days i left it on there...make sure the coat is thin and smooth
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 03:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

AMD64 3000+ w/ stock Thermal Paste.

My tower is filled with intake/exhaust fans (managed by 3 1/2 fan controller) and has nylon sleevs on all of the wires.

Still I am getting 60 C + in temp!
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 11:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Thermaltake 12 Venus, i have it and it keeps my stuff cold, 39 idle abnout 49 full load
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.