..::AMD64 3000+::.. Fast Enough For Modern Games (FarCry/HL2/Doom3)? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2004, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default ..::AMD64 3000+::.. Fast Enough For Modern Games (FarCry/HL2/Doom3)?

(see title)
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 07:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

Yes it is.... what motherboard you got if you were worried you can overclock slightly
__________________

__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

PLENTY fast enough. It's your video card is what you should be worried about being fast enough for those games, as those games require a good->great video card.
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 07:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default

thats overkill.. the system specs that I have on my signature bellow will be able to run those games almost perfectly on medium-high settings.
__________________
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 10:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Games nowadays rely on the gfx card way more than they do the processor. Most new games only require a processor of 1.5GHz or less. You should be fine.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 11:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

thx everyone
ag3 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 11:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Yep just worry about the Vid card
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 05:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

anything like a 9600 XT and above will work great for those games
I would reccomend that CPU though as you'll prolly want 64-bit capabilities sometime later on
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 04:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Games more dependent on the GFX card so that is plenty
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 10:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xxdryicexx
thats overkill.. the system specs that I have on my signature bellow will be able to run those games almost perfectly on medium-high settings.
your sig says you have a 2.8C thats what ill be getting soon. how do you like that proc???? did you notice i big deffernence in your games from upgrading from you old one??? (what was your old one)
__________________

__________________
intel pentium 4 2.8C with HT 800mhz fsb 512k cache s.478 northwood core
1 gig pc3200 DDR400 dual channel
gigabyte P4 titan GT PRO 865G chipset; GA-8IG1000pro
7200rpm 8mb buffer 40gigWD ATA100
52x DVD rom
40x CD burner
WIN XP pro
wireless logitec mouse
soundblaster
DUAL monitor setup: 17 in proview crt, and 15 in IBM crt
priamry mon-gainword geforce FX 5600 ultra 256mb core-378 mem-560
2nd monitor: ATI 128 rage pro 16mb
neon light side fan, exaust fan,thermal cpu fan, and 2 more
430 watt pwer pack
-=B$=- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.