amd64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2004, 04:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default amd64

i kno the new amd 64 chips are the only thing that will run the new 64 bit os's but for something like xp which is 32 bit, will a lets say 2ghz 64 chip run it faster than a regular 32 bit cpu at the same speed. im building a pc when i get some money and just wanna kno if its worth me getting of these chips if i dont use a 64 bit os or would it b better to invest my money in some other hardware.
thx
neversleeps
__________________

__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 06:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Athlon 64's will outperform any Intel CPU now including the P4-EE (extreme edition)
I suggest the 3200 or 3400 since they are 1/3 to 1/2 the price of the P4-EE and the Athlon 64 FX-53
even using a 32-bit only OS they still perform best for their money
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 07:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

Agreed, they will perform well on a 32 bit os, its worth it if you have the money. They will really be able to shine though when 64 bit os's become the standard and more things are compatable, but for now you can still have fun with them
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 10:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to DeathToCats
Default

I guess some there is some linux instructions that take advantage of the 64bit processing, but I haven't been able to install linux yet. I'm very satisfied with my Athlon 64 3200+.. I was waiting since 2002 to buy one..
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
MSI K8T NEO-FSR
Western Digital SATA 80GB/8MB Cache
2 - DDRAM PC-3500 512M KINGMAX
MSI DVD+/-RW 4X
PowerColor ATI 9600XT Ultra
DeathToCats is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 04:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 316
Default

They are definalte worth it, and I imagine Mircosoft will have thier 64-bit version of windows out pretty soon.
__________________
BlazingWolf
<font color=\'red\'>
<b>
<a href=\'http://www.gaming-forums.org\'>
Gaming-Forums.org
<a/>
</b>
</font>
BlazingWolf is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 05:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
Athlon 64's will outperform any Intel CPU now including the P4-EE (extreme edition)
Ermm, the FX series will, not that even comparing the FX series and EE's matter unless were daydreaming

The 3200+ and 3400+ are very good CPU's though, and I'd recommend the 3200+ which is around $250, so it's a good buy
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 05:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 316
Default

Yeah or you could get the EE for what like $600? Excuses me I checked tigerdirect.com -- $949.97
__________________
BlazingWolf
<font color=\'red\'>
<b>
<a href=\'http://www.gaming-forums.org\'>
Gaming-Forums.org
<a/>
</b>
</font>
BlazingWolf is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 06:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 23
Default

64 bit pretty much outperforms 32 bit in any games or high-end apps...
mrsp2man is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 06:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BlazingWolf
Yeah or you could get the EE for what like $600? Excuses me I checked tigerdirect.com -- $949.97
And the FX's aren't much better at $750
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 07:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via ICQ to Rey_Nemaattori Send a message via AIM to Rey_Nemaattori Send a message via Yahoo to Rey_Nemaattori
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BlazingWolf
They are definalte worth it, and I imagine Mircosoft will have thier 64-bit version of windows out pretty soon.
there are already 64-bit versions of Windows Advanced Server 2003 and Windows XP. They've been there for months....

64bit CPU's aren't new, Opterons and Titaium's exist for years now. they weren't really made for the consumer....


I rather buy a Dual Opteron system then a FX-53 or a amd64 3400+ . They're faster, only a little more expensive and don't require registered memory(like the fx'es)
__________________

__________________
AthlonXp1800+ @ 1800Mhz(air)<br>Sapphire Radeon 9600XT 256 mb @ 570/684 (air)
<br>Gigabyte GA-7VAX KT400(Bus @ 175Mhz & AGP @ 70Mhz<br>
512Mb PC2700 DDR-Ram @ 350Mhz
Rey_Nemaattori is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.