AMD vs. Intel - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2004, 08:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 125
Default AMD vs. Intel

What is the difference between AMD and Intel?

I don't have a clue.

I am planning on getting a AMD 3400+'s only what makes it run so much faster than Intel?

I have always heard that AMD is faster than Intel CPU's.

Sorry for the newbie question....but thats what I am when it comes to hardware.

Seraph is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 12:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "BoredMan Lugs..."

All i've heard is that AMD's have 64bit CPU's, while Intel is still trying to push 32bit. Other than that, i don't understand why people say one is better than the outher.


Originally posted by bonehelm

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 12:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

Guess what....its

Anyway, AMD has shorter pipeline archetecture making it better for gaming plus they are 64-bit. Intel and its hyperthreading technology works well with applications like Photoshop and 3ds Max. So its all based on what you are using your computer for.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 01:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

AMD Does more instruction cycles per clock than intel. So that's why a 2.2GHz can get done more. Your 3400+ means it can basically run around a 3.4GHz Intel machine.

look at the image I posted there and look at my CPU scores compared to the ones below it. I was running at 2.7GHz and it beat out the Intels in some parts. Just to give you an idea
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 02:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10

I'm still suprised at how much faster the AMD64 2200+ is compared to my machine at school, which is a 2.4GHz Intel.
insouciant is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 02:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

yeah man the AMD64 blows the 2.4GHs intel completely away. That's not even a comparable contest really
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 06:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903

Originally posted by beedubaya
Guess what....its

He beat me too it......

Over all, AMD ALL THE WAY for me. Basically because I can get more bang for buck.

Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 08:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177


The AMD64 CPU's support 64bit OS and programs.....without a 64bit OS the 64bit support is useless right? I mean, when using WindowsXP 32bit OS there is no performance diference between the AMD64 3000+ and the Athlon 3000+?

( Please correct me if I am wrong )
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 03:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439

AMD suped up their 64-bit chips, so comparing a Athlon XP 3000+ to an Athlon 64 3000+ is like comparing a 9800 Pro to a 6800 GT.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 03:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 125

AMD is very hot in the market right now. AMD does its work differently from Intel. Like Nubius said, AMD does more work in a cycle. Which is why they are very good for gaming. However, from what I know Intel processors has much more power, 3.4 ghz is more powerful than an AMD 2.4 ghz (We are talking about only the vibrations here, not about how they do their work), which is why Intel is more prefereable in like workstations and business.

In my opinion, AMD processors will cost more than Intel in a few years, due to the high demands. I have never seen intel processors sold out in newegg faster than amd. But, yeah I think AMD is heading toward that direction.

Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Lian-Li G70B
Core 2 Duo E6400@3.3ghz
2GB Mushkin Redline XP-8000
150GB Raptor
Hitachi 160GB Desktar
NEC 3520A
eVGA 7900GT Signature Series
Dell 2007FP WUXGA
Wall7486 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.