AMD vs. Intel? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2009, 02:38 AM   #31 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD vs. Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 35g700 View Post
1) The Intel CPU's use the LGA socket rather then the PGA so you don't have to worry about broken/bent pins.
you shouldn't even need to physically replace the CPU in most cases, so it's basically a non-issue. The only thing it does is reduce the cost slightly for Intel.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 35g700 View Post
2) Intel has been at 45NM longer then AMD and is moving down to 32NM
that doesn't mean anything in terms of quality.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 35g700 View Post
3) My PC servicing Tech hates AMD because he got a bad batch of AMD CPU's in about 20 computers... BSOD like crazy and AMD wouldn't do anything about it.
I highly doubt the CPU would have caused that. My guess is the motherboard/chipset drivers. Remember, AMD didn't make their own chipsets before acquiring ATI.

I know Sis chipsets were pretty bad, and Via chipsets mediocre. Though at least Nvidia made some pretty nice chipsets for the K8 chips (Nforce3/Nforce4)

Now, AMD is making their own chipsets, and they moved the memory controller to the CPU die a long time ago.


Though one interesting point I think is that Intel, being a much bigger company, can afford to build a lot of fabs. So it doesn't matter as much to them if their dies don't have as high yields. Whereas AMD needs to make the most of their fabs. So they have to focus on getting high yields.

Anyway, I think the Phenom II's have the best value out of the quads.
The 940 BE tends to keep up well with the Q9550, and is priced around the level of the Q9400. And it overclocks really well too.
The i7's are faster, but are expensive, and require an expensive board, as well as higher priced DDR3 RAM (though DDR3 RAM is coming down in price, and is getting closer to DDR2)
For gaming, there will be little benifit overall with an i7.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 07:14 AM   #32 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
Default Re: AMD vs. Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
Intel isn't higher quality than AMD, I have no idea what you're talking about there. AMD used to beat the crap out of intel for a while until they got their act together. Now, on a budget, you can't beat AMD.

That being said, the intel build is fine.
Maybe not "higher quality" but definitely faster
__________________

newbiebuilderguy is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 07:32 AM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD vs. Intel?

the i7's are.
I think the Phenom II's have the best performance per dollar.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 09:45 AM   #34 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: AMD vs. Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbiebuilderguy View Post
Maybe not "higher quality" but definitely faster
That depends on what chips your comparing to others, the same with anything else. The i7 chips are obviously the fastest on the market, no question. But that doesn't mean you should never buy AMD, especially when you don't have 1500 bucks to spend on a brand new machine.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 09:56 AM   #35 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: AMD vs. Intel?

I won't be happy until I have Deep Thought as my PC

List of minor characters from The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 02:58 PM   #36 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: AMD vs. Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dumpy View Post
ok thanks ! is that case big enough for a cpu fan? i plan on oc a little bit.. probably take it to 2.7-3 ghz if possible.. i never have before and i donno about the mother board either, the reviews on newegg are nothign but bad?
The case will be big enough for an aftermarket heatsink but you will probably have to remove the side air duct.
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 05:33 PM   #37 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: AMD vs. Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
you shouldn't even need to physically replace the CPU in most cases, so it's basically a non-issue. The only thing it does is reduce the cost slightly for Intel..
You also don't have to worry abut ripping the cpu out of the socket with lga 775. Granted most people don't take their coolers off that ofter but when you do it's better if the process doesn't involve prying the cpu off the bottom of the hsf after it pulled the cpu out of the socket.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 08:01 PM   #38 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: AMD vs. Intel?

The LGA 775 still uses pins... they are on the mobo instead of the chip. They can still be bent and broke.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-09-2009, 12:48 AM   #39 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: AMD vs. Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
The LGA 775 still uses pins... they are on the mobo instead of the chip. They can still be bent and broke.
its a litle harder. they arent pins as much as they are folded gold tabs lol. i apreciated them alot when i whent to intel, i disliked the pins on my 4000+ lapping would be a nightmare. also with my socket 939 build i pulled the cpu out of the socket almost everytime i took my hsf off.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-09-2009, 02:18 AM   #40 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: AMD vs. Intel?

i gotta get my 2 cents in if it isnt too late.

in general, intel is ahead of amd in performance.

but it really comes down to your budget.

*if you have unlimited cash flow, i7 rig is the way to go
*if you have 250-350 for cpu alone, go with intel (i7 or c2q)
*if you have 200-250 for cpu alone, you have a few options
a) q9400 by intel, this is a very nice cpu on the 775 board
b) phenom II 940 by amd, again, very nice cpu on the am2+ board
c) wait for the phenom II 955 to launch for the am3 board, altho this may be more than 250, but we dont know yet.
*if you have 150-200 for cpu alone, again you have a few options
a) q6600 by intel, these are older but still very nice if you can find a good batch #
b) phenom II 920 by amd, this can almost match the phenom II 940, but with the multi locked, that makes it a lil harder to reach the high OC's. This uses a am2+ board
c) e8400/e8500 by intel, these OC like monsters but still dual cores, and still very nice.
*if you have 100-150 for cpu alone, i think your best bet would be to go with the phenom II x3 720. its currently $135 and it screams bang for buck, while having better performance @ stock speeds than the e8000 series and can still overclock pretty darn well. this uses the am3 board
*if your budget is less than 100, you cant go wrong with either of these below
a)e5300 by intel on the 775 board
b)x2 7750 by amd on the am2+ board
both of these chips are great bang for the buck and will provide enough punch for 95% of the computer users today imo.
*if you have less than 50 to spend on a cpu alone, i suggest you save up your money or get your priorities in order.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poizen22 View Post
its a litle harder. they arent pins as much as they are folded gold tabs lol. i apreciated them alot when i whent to intel, i disliked the pins on my 4000+ lapping would be a nightmare. also with my socket 939 build i pulled the cpu out of the socket almost everytime i took my hsf off.
i did that when building my x2 6400 machine last january. pulled the heatsink/fan off and the cpu came out with it even tho it was locked in, it bent about 20% of the pins, spent a good hour or so using a mag. glass and a pocket knife fixing it.
i was sweating horridly doing the job because i had spent my last dime on the other parts and i needed to get the rig up and running lol.
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur) kenny536 System Upgrades 32 03-11-2009 01:25 PM
Intel E8400 3.00GHz (OR) Q6600 2.4G (OR) AMD Phenom x4 9950 Black Edition Errorloading New Systems | Building and Buying 18 12-27-2008 03:45 PM
AMD vs. Intel tbinnerarity New Systems | Building and Buying 12 10-06-2008 10:02 PM
Intel bans Nvidia Apokalipse Polls 66 06-24-2008 05:26 PM
AMD to Intel Conversion FlapJack Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 03-05-2008 06:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.