AMD Vs. Intel - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2004, 10:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrucialLabs
Hello,

I would go with AMD. They have the faster processor. All my systems run AMD. Let the flaming begin . Depending on the amount of money you want to spend, you could get the Athlon 64 3000+ or if you do not have that kind of cash flow I would look at the XP 2500+ on up to the XP 3200+. With Intel they are pushing GHzs and with AMD they are pushing processing power and speed of calculations. Look at www.newegg.com for some good deals. There are alot of benchmarks out there and the results are AMD is faster.

Faster, for the first 10 seconds until it overheats .
Was that a good flame?
__________________

ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 10:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Squaggleboggin
If you plan on overclocking for gaming, go with AMD because they run cooler. Their 64-bit processors are the best thing on the market right now if you're looking to spend some cash. If not, get a lower-end one and overclock it. I've heard that AMDs are generally better for gaming and Pentiums are generally better for tasks like video editing.

Are you serious? You think amd chips run cooler? Amd chips process a higher IPC which causes the chip to produce a high amount of heat. Intel refused to increase the amount of IPC on their chips for obvious reasons.
__________________

ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-04-2004, 04:23 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

blankbandit thanks for passing judgement without knowing me at all. please, step into a time machine with me as we travel back......all the way into yesterday, and the day before that, and to last week, and the month before that, and the year....

.....ok so i haven't been around that long yet, but you get the point. this is asked almost everyday, sometimes more than once a day. it feels like i am trapped in the twilight zone or that movie "groundhog day". here's what i am talking about :

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=15003

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=7962


http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=10033

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=7742

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=13911

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=13911

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=10596

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=15097

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=9865

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=9984

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=9594

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=9215

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=12872

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=15356

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=9078

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=11624

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=11557

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=10459

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=13146

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=12893


Quote:
Originally posted by blankbandit
geeeze.....maybe it's time for a new moderator....someone who isn't jaded by these mundane questions. i just hope u're not a school teacher crushing the spirits of fresh minds!
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 05-04-2004, 06:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

AMD vs. INTEL....

I let my pocket book do talking there.

AMD as I can get more BANG for my BUCK!!!



The second Intel brings there PIV CPUs down to the same price of an AMD, then I will change sides. And that goes to the motherboard manufacturers too as the mobo for Intel Platforms seem to be about 25% dear than the AMD equivalent.

An INTEL system always seems to be about $100 dearer that a AMD System. An extra AU$100 on a computers could be spend on other things. Eg. More Ram, Better Video Card.

At the end of the day, MONEY TALKS!!!!
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-04-2004, 02:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
NIN
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 202
Default

for me the determining factor is my wallet and amd has the better perforance for your dollar. now for who has better performance, depends when you ask the question, when amd beats up on intels fastest with a new processor and itel does the same. just an ongoing battle. but what i believe is if you want all out proven power go intel if you need that extra buck for the geforce go amd. nuff said.
__________________
A+, Network+, and powerpoint certified

Studying Linux+
NIN is offline  
Old 05-04-2004, 02:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
NIN
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 202
Default

btw, p4 are very overclockable
__________________
A+, Network+, and powerpoint certified

Studying Linux+
NIN is offline  
Old 05-04-2004, 10:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to blankbandit
Default

hey, ekÆsine, i was just having some fun. no offense intended. it's just that i'm always worried about posting and having your reply of how i shouldn't have posted.
peace for the geese!
blankbandit is offline  
Old 05-04-2004, 11:42 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

W/ the exception of the newer iterations of these processors ie: P4EE / FX series

AMD = hot yet more bang for you buck
Intel = better overclocker

AMD = Video Editing (check the premier scores)
Intel = Sound editing (unless you are using protools in which case you are using a mac anyway)

look up some benchmarks :-/
The AMD systems and Intel systems are almost on par except for the things listed above. Now that doesn't mean you can't overclock a AMD better than an Intel, it depends on what processor you have recieved. That also doesn't mean you can don't sound on an AMD or video on an Intel (however AMD destroy's Intel processors in premier).

But AMD does offer more bang for your buck, so I suggest AMD with a Barton or Clawhammer core.
__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 09:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by modemide
W/ the exception of the newer iterations of these processors ie: P4EE / FX series

AMD = hot yet more bang for you buck
Intel = better overclocker

AMD = Video Editing (check the premier scores)
Intel = Sound editing (unless you are using protools in which case you are using a mac anyway)

look up some benchmarks :-/
The AMD systems and Intel systems are almost on par except for the things listed above. Now that doesn't mean you can't overclock a AMD better than an Intel, it depends on what processor you have recieved. That also doesn't mean you can don't sound on an AMD or video on an Intel (however AMD destroy's Intel processors in premier).

But AMD does offer more bang for your buck, so I suggest AMD with a Barton or Clawhammer core.

All the bench marks I have seen show intel chips work better with multimedia in gereral, see the 3dstudio max scores. As for AMD they seem to process general applications better, such as office and what not.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 08:34 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fokz
What I meant by supporting all games, "today", meaning the fast paced industry. I want a system that will last a good year before encountering thoughts of major upgrades. I'm running a P3 533Mhz....It really sucks. I spend probably 2/3's of my life on my computer, now I mean really, I need to be able to go to a computer store to buy some software and not even consider the system requirements! lol, not haveing to search for low grade software that my baby can handle!
you have 33MHZ more than me!

I used to be an Intel freak, then AMD brought out their socket 754's
socket 940 proc's are too expensive and so is the Intel P4EE (extreme edition) however
* the Athlon 64 3400's and 3200's I know outperform the P4EE
*the 3400 is about half the price and the 3200 is about 1/3 the price
* they can process 64-bit
* Windows "Longhorn" will require a 64-bit processor to run thus making all of Intel's current CPU's except the Itanium irrelevant, and do you know how hard it is to find an Itanium?

I found out the Athlon 64's have a 1600MHZ FSB, twice that of the best Intel P4's
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.