AMD Vs. Intel - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2004, 07:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 22
Default AMD Vs. Intel

I'm planning on building myself a system sometime soon and I'm just trying to decide which way I should go. I personally know absolutely nothing about AMD's, but I have heard that they are quite decent. I want to build a machine that can handle all the games out there today. Right now I'm stuck with starcraft haha.

What are your opinions towards Intel and Amd?

If I were to go Intel, I was looking into the P4 3.0e GHz 800 FSB w/ 1MB Cache and Hyper-Threading.
If I decided for AMD which processor's seem to be the best, most reliable..etc.
__________________

Fokz is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 07:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to anarchy
Default

If you know what to look for, this is a pretty good site that gives you comparisons of the two.

http://www.pantherproducts.co.uk/Art...mparison.shtml

I personally am running a P4 2.8 Ghz, and I have had virtually no problems with the games of today. The processor has some to do with gaming preformance, but not alot. If your looking for gaming, the video card is where it's at.
__________________

__________________


Search TF!
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form></small></font></p></p>
anarchy is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

dam not this AMD vs Intel crap again. we have like 10 of these threads already and they get massive and tiresome. Fokz do us a favor and just do a search on the forum, you will get many matches.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 07:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

Hello,

I would go with AMD. They have the faster processor. All my systems run AMD. Let the flaming begin . Depending on the amount of money you want to spend, you could get the Athlon 64 3000+ or if you do not have that kind of cash flow I would look at the XP 2500+ on up to the XP 3200+. With Intel they are pushing GHzs and with AMD they are pushing processing power and speed of calculations. Look at www.newegg.com for some good deals. There are alot of benchmarks out there and the results are AMD is faster.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 08:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Sorry ekÆsine, I'm a lazy child. Searching forums for specifics takes time and I'm all about the quick, simple and easy ways out:P. Haha I'm just jokin, I honestly didn't consider looking. I'll look for the previous discussions.
Fokz is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 08:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 139
Default

If you plan on overclocking for gaming, go with AMD because they run cooler. Their 64-bit processors are the best thing on the market right now if you're looking to spend some cash. If not, get a lower-end one and overclock it. I've heard that AMDs are generally better for gaming and Pentiums are generally better for tasks like video editing.
__________________
-The one and only Keebler Elf-
Squaggleboggin is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 08:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

Alrighty, Fokz, from a totally neutral point of view (Now neutral anyway)

There IS a speed difference between a 3.2gHZ intel and an AMD 3200+.

Until you get to the low down, and compare a 2.0 ghz Intel P4 to a 2800 running at 2.08, if you have the AMD in a system with plenty of ram, it will totally blast the 2.0 ghz Intel out of the water.

TO be perfectly honest, It doesn't require a super-new computer to run almost all games very well.

really all you need is a processor over 1.4ghz and atleast 512 mb of ram, and a video card equivilent or better than a GeForce FX5200 with atleast 128 MB of vid ram.

I have a 2800+ in my new system and it's effing genius. HOpe this helped!
__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 08:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to blankbandit
Default

geeeze.....maybe it's time for a new moderator....someone who isn't jaded by these mundane questions. i just hope u're not a school teacher crushing the spirits of fresh minds!
blankbandit is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 09:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 22
Default

What I meant by supporting all games, "today", meaning the fast paced industry. I want a system that will last a good year before encountering thoughts of major upgrades. I'm running a P3 533Mhz....It really sucks. I spend probably 2/3's of my life on my computer, now I mean really, I need to be able to go to a computer store to buy some software and not even consider the system requirements! lol, not haveing to search for low grade software that my baby can handle!
Fokz is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 10:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

*ZzZzZzZzZzZ* I AM TOO TIRED to explain but go AMD...all i gotta say. Since you aren't into video editing, you don't need pentium. My system which is not in my sig is: amd 64 3000+, 1 gig of kingston hypeRX pc 3200 ram Cas2, Ati radeon 9800 pro,120GB sata and it gliiiiddesss
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.