AMD in servers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2003, 09:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Ray-ACEWeb
Default AMD in servers

Recently I have thought of using AMD Athlon CPU's for my future servers. But I am kind of reluctant to switch from P4 1.7Ghz over to AMD Athlon. I am worried about heat problems and it's stability in a 1U case. But other than that, I have few AMD machines here and I have been happy with them since day one. I also have few Intel machines that I am not overall happy with because of lockups and slowness. I am really considering using AMD chips for my new servers however I would like your opinions first. Also, would using the silicone compound help cool the chip down or no? What would you recommend and what are your experiences with AMD chips in a 1U case or a server?

How does AMD chips compare to Intel chips in a server?

I have been a AMD fan for a long time but I have never use them in a server.

Thank You
__________________

Ray-ACEWeb is offline  
Old 03-17-2003, 12:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Ray-ACEWeb
Default

What would you suggest for a 1U server? Bore holes in the server, etc.

What type of fans, btw?

Thanks
__________________

Ray-ACEWeb is offline  
Old 03-17-2003, 06:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default

if sound doesn't matter pick up a smart fan II They move 75.7 cfm and it is a varible speed fan. They are pretty loud though.
__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 03-17-2003, 08:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Ray-ACEWeb
Default

What heatsink would you recommend?

Thanks
Ray-ACEWeb is offline  
Old 03-17-2003, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Something made by thermaltake is always the best... I have used TT HSF combos on ALL my Athlon CPU's and have never had a problem with lockups, overheating, nothing.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 03-17-2003, 11:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Kevin Send a message via AIM to Kevin
Default

2 words:

AMD RULES
__________________
Remember kids:
Your Computer loves you.
Kevin is offline  
Old 03-17-2003, 11:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Ray-ACEWeb
Default

Just out of curiosity. Have you ever use a AMD chip in something as small as a 1U rackmount?

Thanks

Quote:
Originally posted by Ecniv
Something made by thermaltake is always the best... I have used TT HSF combos on ALL my Athlon CPU's and have never had a problem with lockups, overheating, nothing.
Ray-ACEWeb is offline  
Old 03-17-2003, 12:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Kevin Send a message via AIM to Kevin
Default

i've never heard of AMD doing bad things like that....

only intel

plus AMD is much cheaper.
__________________
Remember kids:
Your Computer loves you.
Kevin is offline  
Old 03-17-2003, 12:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Ray-ACEWeb
Default

Much cheap and alot more reliable than Intel, IMO. But never used an AMD chip in a 1U. Guess I should experiment? I'll definately use artic silver. Any other suggestions?

Thanks
Ray-ACEWeb is offline  
Old 03-17-2003, 12:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Kevin Send a message via AIM to Kevin
Default

no more from me. sounds like you got it all down pretty good
__________________

__________________
Remember kids:
Your Computer loves you.
Kevin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.