Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2008, 09:48 AM   #21 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

Just FYI, some Semprons support 64 bit, SSE2, and maybe SSE3. AthlonXP's are just 32 bit and lack the SSE2/3 extensions. I'm planning on swapping out my AthlonXP that I have here in my dorm with my Sempron (both 2600+) so I can run Vista 64. Maybe this only applies to Socket 754 Semprons though.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 10-24-2008, 11:30 AM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

NP as my MB took a crap.Thanks for the info.Am useing a Viper now,see other post on overclocking this cpu.
__________________

KingmanRoss is offline  
Old 10-24-2008, 01:18 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
Just FYI, some Semprons support 64 bit, SSE2, and maybe SSE3. AthlonXP's are just 32 bit and lack the SSE2/3 extensions. I'm planning on swapping out my AthlonXP that I have here in my dorm with my Sempron (both 2600+) so I can run Vista 64. Maybe this only applies to Socket 754 Semprons though.

Because those semprons are based off the AMD64 architecture..the sempron in question here is based off the older architecture that the athlon xp uses.

As you said, only the 754 semprons (sempron 64) have all those features, socket 462 semprons dont.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 03:42 AM   #24 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

Glad I have a newer Sempron, it runs Vista 64 (...not well, but it runs ). Computer only cost like $100 to build a year ago too.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 04:30 AM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

I have 2 sticks ( 1 gb each) of pc2700 333mhz ddr memory (with heat spreaders) and a 8x AGP nvidia 6800gt I am not using if you want to buy them let me know. those parts will upgrade your performance nicely. I even got a amd barton 3200+ socket 462, same as your 2300+ xp. paper weights, I pulled my parts for my currnet socket 939 setup.

for sale!
Daffney is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 08:13 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

This was my last post>>Trotter,anyone,I have a borrowed Viper and has a Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz,can this be overclocked,if so how to/best performance info greatly appreciated.thanks.FYI>My PC took a major dive ,MB has no power except for a split second n then nothing unless I clear cmos n put back on other pins n then same thing so am borrowing this Viper.<<< Now am planning to buy (probably eBay) in a week or so new or like new MB MB Combo.If combo want to get fastest cpu I can get which looks like a few at $50. shipping free so sounds pretty good.Rather it be C.O.D. tho the way things are nowadays.O well.
KingmanRoss is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 08:17 AM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

Dont bother with upgrading that system.

You can get a brand new mobo, ram and dual core chip for about $100.

mobo - $43 shipped
Newegg.com - Foxconn M7VMX-K LGA 775 NVIDIA GeForce 7050 / nForce 610i Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

dual core - $49 shipped
Newegg.com - Intel Celeron E1200 1.6GHz 512KB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

ram - $25 shipped
Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS2 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 675 (PC2 5400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 08:26 AM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Red face Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

Oopsy,sorry,was not talking about this viper,was refering to my puter.Viper is only borrowed because I need a new MB for mine.also already have DDR 1gig ram.
KingmanRoss is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 08:27 AM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

What i linked above is solid and will get you into current hardware for a good price. You can also overclock the cpu to 3ghz if you want or upgrade to a better chip later.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 08:35 AM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Unhappy Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

also funds are very tight.
__________________

KingmanRoss is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel vs. AMD Athlon wootwoot System Upgrades 11 08-14-2008 01:52 PM
AMD Athlon ann john System Upgrades 0 08-01-2008 05:04 AM
Good motherboard combo for AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane amsoil System Upgrades 2 02-26-2008 11:41 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
overclock 3300+ AMD athlon 64 D-Rocks Overclocking and Modding 3 09-30-2007 11:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.