Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2008, 10:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

Hi all.I have a Sempron 2500+ Socket A.I also have a tower with an Athlon XP 2300+.Which is better(faster) and would it pay me to switch?I can not afford a new one/new Video card at this time and would like to play more(better) maps on BF2.I have a lot but only able to play a few as they jerk alot.
__________________

KingmanRoss is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 11:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

Athlon XP is faster.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 05:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

The Sempron is technically faster (2500 > 2300), but the Athlon has the full memory cache on die, while the Sempron has half. Once you balance it out, the Athlon would be the better bet.

BF2 likes RAM, so give all you can. Two gigs is the sweet spot for it, it you motherboard can handle it.

Jerking sounds like graphcis problems. What graphics card are you running?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 08:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default

ATI Radeon 9600 pro 128mem,1gig main mem.

most maps I added has a lot of heavy graphics and by the time I point to the enemy(after the game catches up,lol) I am already dead,and can not afford a better card or cpu.Bad as I definately want Call of Duty also but do not even have the min. for card/processor speed ,yet.Thanks guys.Really appreciate the info.
KingmanRoss is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 08:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

Your best bet would be to lower your settings (if you haven't already). Being a BF2 player myself, I can sympathize with your plight. I haven't had your particular problem as I had a 7800GTX when I started playing, but several in my clan have been through that.

Actually, a 9600 pro is not real bad. I'll look around this evening when I get home and see what I can find that might help.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 09:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Smile Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

Thanks Trotter,appreciate it.
KingmanRoss is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 06:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

Start off with drivers. You need to download OmegaDrivers ATI drivers 3.8.252:
Radeon Omega Driver Downloads

Once you have them, uninstall the old drivers. Use AMD/ATI's method:
AMD Customer Care

Once you have them uninstalled and have rebooted, install the OmegaDrivers.

Here are some settings I would try on BF2 to reduce the strain on your card:
Terrain - Low
Effects - Low
Geometry - High
Textures - High
Light - Low
Dynamic Shadows - Medium
Dynamic Lighting - M
AA - Off
Text - High

Sight distance - 100%

Those settings should give you decent gameplay and allow you to see the other guy a little easier.

Download and run ATITool to get the emps of your card. If you are running hot, it can mess up your game; a cool card works better. You can use ATITool to control your cooler on the card, as well as to overclock it if you so choose.
ATITool - Overclocking utility for ATI and NVIDIA cards
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 08:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Talking

Thanks Trotter.Will let you know how it goes.Ross

Good morning Trotter.Well,was no improvement so will have to get a better card.Over the weekend I might (might) switch processors,not sure yet.May wait till I can get a better one on that also.Thanks very much for your help .Appreciate it.Ross
KingmanRoss is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 01:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

Something else to check... Battlefield 2 is very stingy with resources. Kill everything running in the background that you can (except for AV, of course). You don't have any spare processor power to spare when running it, so make sure it has all there is to have.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 01:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default Re: Amd Sempron vs Athlon XP

Yea,I do that too.Learned that a long time ago.I just have to wait till I can afford to upgrade is all.Built my PC about 6 yrs. ago from ground up but ,like they say,it was uot of date as soon as I plugged it in,lol.
__________________

KingmanRoss is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel vs. AMD Athlon wootwoot System Upgrades 11 08-14-2008 01:52 PM
AMD Athlon ann john System Upgrades 0 08-01-2008 05:04 AM
Good motherboard combo for AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane amsoil System Upgrades 2 02-26-2008 11:41 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
overclock 3300+ AMD athlon 64 D-Rocks Overclocking and Modding 3 09-30-2007 11:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.