AMD Roadmap Update – AMD Sempron transition to Socket 754 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2005, 07:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default AMD Roadmap Update – AMD Sempron transition to Socket 754

Just some more news about what is happening with AMD in the next 4 week :-

Quote:
Roadmap Update – AMD Sempron transition to Socket 754
In line with AMDs roadmap the time has come to shift AMD Sempron™ processors to the Socket 754 infrastructure. There are many benefits associated with this transition including the added features of Cool'n'Quiet and Enhanced Virus Protection. With this shift to socket 754, there are some updates to be aware of regarding the Socket A Sempron ™ :

End of life for the Socket A AMD Sempron ™ 3000+, 2800+, 2600+ and 2200+ will be June 15 th 2005
Socket A AMD Sempron ™ pricing on the 3000+, 2800+ and 2600+ will stay constant while the same models in Socket 754 have experienced a price drop and are now $8-$10 less at the same model number.
In a nut shell, Socket A is going to dead by the end of this quarter.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 05:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I thought socket A was dead already
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 05:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
I thought socket A was dead already
Not hardly, they will be around for quite some time even when AMD quits making them, there's an awful lot still in the supply lines and inventories.Its a perfectly good system to use.They may not be the latest and greatest or the best choice for gamers, but the speed of PC's past the needs of the typical user long ago.For what about 90% of the folks out there do, a 1-1.8ghz socket A system is more than enough.
horndude is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 06:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by horndude
Not hardly, they will be around for quite some time even when AMD quits making them, there's an awful lot still in the supply lines and inventories.
A long of the manufacturers for motherboards now days are talking on the newer technology a lot quicker now. Like all ready this month, I am havng problems getting some entry level all in one pentium 4 boards as LGA775 seems to be the way to go now.

Quote:
Originally posted by horndude
Its a perfectly good system to use.They may not be the latest and greatest or the best choice for gamers, but the speed of PC's past the needs of the typical user long ago.For what about 90% of the folks out there do, a 1-1.8ghz socket A system is more than enough.
Oh yeah. Like i got my old Duron 1300 sitting at which I am thinking about putting into a Shuttle Case some time soon for a media center.

But over all, what good are the CPUs when you do not have a motherboard for them.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 06:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Considering there's more than 60 socket A mobos on the market right now I dont think they will up and disappear anytime soon.Heck, you can still get slot A mobo's and cpu's if you search a little, and theyve been extinct for quite awhile.
horndude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.