AMD Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2005, 09:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Question AMD Question

Im looking into AMD Processors not having a clue what to get on thier site they advertise the AMD Athlon FX as a great gaming processor. As i am building a Gaming PC i wanted to know if the Athlon FX is really all its cracked up to be? Also if you have any suggestions on a processor you have had a good experience with i'd love to hear from you seeing as this is my first build and im a little lost in the woods at the moment
Thanks
__________________

Dr Nick is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 09:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The FX series is considered the fastest line of processors in the world, to put it into perspective for you I believe an Intel had to be bumped up to 5.3GHz to surpass the FX-55.

However, their performance really doesn't justify the outrageous price, the 3000+ is an absolute beast for the price and can easily climb it's way up to 3800+ speeds and higher with subpar cooling.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

Well all i am utterly speachless after seeing the ridiculous pricetag for this beast.:shocked: :shocked: :shocked: I am pretty darn sure i will not shell out 800 smackrs for just the processor of my new Comp. Just churious to know how much and by when about do you think the price will drop. If its not much then what would be annother sutable procesor for a gaming PC (Intel or AMD)

P.S. One of my main goals for this comp is to have it be able to play the Awsome Battlefield 2! So i've heard it requires at least a 2.2ghz processor i think
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default

The FX line of processors really isn't worth the added price tag. Even when the FX-57 comes out, the price probably won't drop enough to justify the cost. You would be better off paying a lot less and getting an Athlon 64.
__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Get a 3700+ San Diego core CPU

It overclocks basicly the same as an fx-55
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr Nick
P.S. One of my main goals for this comp is to have it be able to play the Awsome Battlefield 2! So i've heard it requires at least a 2.2ghz processor i think
It requires 2 ghz, yes, but thats only for Intel. The FX 55 is only clocked at 2.8ghz, but it pwnz the intel 3.8ghz to put things in perspective. my 3200+ is clocked at 2 ghz,but it also pwnz almost every intel CPU on the market. i would recommend the 3700 San Diego
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 10:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

Does anybody have any REASONABLY priced alternatives that would be "Good" for awhile and for new games (such as BF2)?
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 10:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Read what I wrote above, get a Revision E 3000+ and overclock that sucka, even on stock you should be able to get it to 2.2GHz easily and beyond that shouldn't be much trouble. 3000+ is what, 150 bucks now?
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 10:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Or get the 3200+ Venice Core. I know it is good for OC'ing.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

I have just read an article about the 3700+ and it was saying it was probably the last in the line of socket 754 processors.:amazed: Would it be a mistake to get somthing other than socket 939 if i ever wanted to upgrade in the future (is it even possible to upgrade a processor?)
Thanks
__________________

Dr Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.