AMD Question. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2004, 01:07 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

NO it wont, 750Mhz AMD has different pin structure and 300Mhz has diferent.

as AMD timeline was as follows, this i'm writing for knowledge base as well)

1: 75Mhz - 300Mhz were on Socket 5 - 320pins --> this is yours

2: 233 - 500Mhz = Socket 7 = 321 pins

3: 500 - 1000MHz - Slot A

4: 600Mhz to AthlonXP 3200+ = Socet A = 462 pins

now you are missing just 142 holes in Processor holder on motherboard.

i'll suggest, get hold of a needle (common pin will as well work) and adjust it in front of drill machine, and drill these 142 holes to accomodate that 750Mhz Socket A (462) pins Processor.

* and bear in mind, a PIN more or a PIN less than specified, your CPU might fail to work. - HAHAHAHAHAHA

+++ all above is joke for drilling , dont take it seriously ++
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 01:28 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to AndTwenTy10 Send a message via Yahoo to AndTwenTy10
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
NO it wont, 750Mhz AMD has different pin structure and 300Mhz has diferent.

as AMD timeline was as follows, this i'm writing for knowledge base as well)

1: 75Mhz - 300Mhz were on Socket 5 - 320pins --> this is yours

2: 233 - 500Mhz = Socket 7 = 321 pins

3: 500 - 1000MHz - Slot A

4: 600Mhz to AthlonXP 3200+ = Socet A = 462 pins

now you are missing just 142 holes in Processor holder on motherboard.

i'll suggest, get hold of a needle (common pin will as well work) and adjust it in front of drill machine, and drill these 142 holes to accomodate that 750Mhz Socket A (462) pins Processor.

* and bear in mind, a PIN more or a PIN less than specified, your CPU might fail to work. - HAHAHAHAHAHA

+++ all above is joke for drilling , dont take it seriously ++
Oh that's kind of a disapointment but o well...It was worth a try, guess the laptop will always be slow and sucky.

Got pretty much no use for the 750, ill probally just crack it open..
__________________

AndTwenTy10 is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 01:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

what are you gonna open?? the laptop or CPU?

use laptop as server.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 01:41 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to AndTwenTy10 Send a message via Yahoo to AndTwenTy10
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
what are you gonna open?? the laptop or CPU?

use laptop as server.
Laptop...what do you mean use it as a server..? I hate it.
AndTwenTy10 is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 02:27 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

dont dispose it. give to somebody who doesnt have money to buy a machine, at least this will run win95 and few word documents and connect to internet easily.

i'm in habbit of giving away stuff for free as if i find someone needy, and its often, as pc component velicity is high with me.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 01:19 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to AndTwenTy10 Send a message via Yahoo to AndTwenTy10
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
dont dispose it. give to somebody who doesnt have money to buy a machine, at least this will run win95 and few word documents and connect to internet easily.

i'm in habbit of giving away stuff for free as if i find someone needy, and its often, as pc component velicity is high with me.
I wouldent give it away, No one ever gives me nothing.
AndTwenTy10 is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 01:48 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

so you'd rather destroy it then sell it for $20 to some one on this forum like TheMajor or someone with broken/crappy or no pc at all? :freak:
GageMW is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 02:44 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to AndTwenTy10 Send a message via Yahoo to AndTwenTy10
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GageMW
so you'd rather destroy it then sell it for $20 to some one on this forum like TheMajor or someone with broken/crappy or no pc at all? :freak:

Mhmm
AndTwenTy10 is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 05:07 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well themajor lives in the netherlands so unless you're in europe it aint worth it to ship it there I've already offered him a 566MHz Celeron and motherboard
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.