AMD Quad Cores by 2007 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2005, 09:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default AMD Quad Cores by 2007

Gaara better not have posted this

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/dis...425212220.html


Mmmmm, gotta love it lol
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 124
Default

At this rate by the time I'm 40 years old CPUs will have more cores then I have fingers.
__________________

__________________
http://img66.imageshack.us/img66/2982/email2aq.png
[size=1]New build
dfi lanparty sli-dr
amd x2 3800+
evga 7800GTX
2 gigs (2 x 1gig) ocz ram
500 gigs (250gb x2) seagate hard drive
RAID 0
Windows XP Home Edition
mooseman is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Jesus, quad cores??? Damn, id love to see how those babies do in multitasking.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

....

Can you say HOT?!
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Nah, they wouldn't advance if it just kept getting ridiculously hotter. it will be using 65nm processing and possibly lower power, so it'd probably even out temperature wise
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

It wouldn't be as fast as 4x one of the chips; latency and everything would kill it.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I read that a couple days ago, I didn't post anything about it though. Thought about it though. :P

CPUs will most likely continue to double up like this until we get the next big breakthrough, but I fear that the software may have a hard time keeping up with the multithreaded changes being made so frequently. Basically, in my opinion, multicores won't be useful until about a year or so after their release at the very least, unless you wanna play a game while encoding a video behind it...

Just look at 64 bit processing, it's about two years since AMD released the commercial Athlon 64s, and Windows x64, simply an operating system, was released a few days ago.

(I'm not counting Linux as the majority of consumers do not use it)
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

How much does X64 cost anyways?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

http://images.anandtech.com/reviews/...iew/table5.png
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara

Just look at 64 bit processing, it's about two years since AMD released the commercial Athlon 64s, and Windows x64, simply an operating system, was released a few days ago.

(I'm not counting Linux as the majority of consumers do not use it)
This is where the bleed over effect from the game boxes will come into play, they are moving in the same direction very soon(dont ask me why,TV resolution blows chunks), anyway, once that happens, its a safe bet that games will be ported to the x86 multicore platform that will take advantage of parallel processing.

I wanna know why these game boxes havent just up and moved into the next level where a decent rgb monitor is needed, it would make lots of sense, at $200 each for a ps2, whats another $75 for a monitor, or have I been missing something?(no I dont do game boxes, quit after the ps1)
__________________

horndude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.