AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 85 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 08:08 AM   #841 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

do not buy a P4 prescott....
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 07:10 PM   #842 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
do not buy a P4 prescott....
well i didnt want to offend those here who have a prescott but what he said
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 01:15 AM   #843 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
do not buy a P4 prescott....
unless you are willing to spend on extra cooling or do a bit of work to keep it running cool
__________________


Aries A+ Hardware and Software Certified
BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 02:00 AM   #844 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

just stick it in the freezer
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 09:41 AM   #845 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

then take it out and hit it with a hammer, have a cry and go buy an x2. thought i'd put it subtly. meh i suppose this thread is AMD vs. Intel so we can act like fanboys.

Quote:
I saw a PC they were selling for $4500 and it has a Pentium 4 640, 512MB RAM and a geforce 6600...

I wouldn't even pay half that...
**** what in **** was the pricing department smoking. even if they had that at say $1500 i wouldn't buy it unless it came with a 42" plasma screen.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 09:57 PM   #846 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BlkShdw88
unless you are willing to spend on extra cooling or do a bit of work to keep it running cool
I own a prescott, (wish I had an Amd), but either way, aftermarket cooling helps a ton. I installed a $59 (cad), Coolermaster Hyper48 and my temp right now is 36.5 at idle. And I had the HS/F off 10 days ago, so artic silver not fully set yet......Ambient temp is 21 degrees celcius. It used to idle at 52 degrees, ouch....
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 11:14 PM   #847 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the hyper48 is a good cooler. I would have got one, but it doesn't fit on socket A
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 08:51 AM   #848 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

http://reviews.cnet.com/4520-10442_7-6389077-1.html

thats another version of the dual core duel i stumbled across. its the Athlon X2's vs. the Pentium D's this time though rather than the server cpu's. no doubt someone else already posted this somewhere but its a good read. summary: the X2's win every round and in one round the entire X2 range beat the Pentium D's including the EE (about $1600 au). so i'll take my X2 any day
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 03:07 AM   #849 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Okay, I've got half way through, its time for the fact, most Game Rigs and Home PC's (General Use) run AMD as long as there not packaged by Dell! And Buisness PC's and Laptops Intels. If I got A PC tomorough I whould get an AMD, becuese I want poweful inexpensive processing power for the future. If I was to get a laptop I whould get a Intel. I've used both Intel and AMD quite alot over the years, and love them both!
Rigard is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 07:11 AM   #850 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

those turions from AMD look quite nice.

about media center pc's: you can easily keep a cpu cool in a small chassis as long as you take several precautions. The HSF is applied correctly with thermal paste, there is some airflow, and you dont use a cpu that generates a lot of heat like a Prescott or Dual Core CPU like X2.

With a regular CPU like a Venice, Sempron Palermo or even the older Athlon XP's you can get a HTPC with ample processing power. If you want to run a cpu in a case that is very small that has little airflow you may want to look into the Pentium M's or underclocking your CPU.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.