AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 75 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2005, 01:21 AM   #741 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

I work the computer section of a huge garage sale my church does where we take donated computers, mix and match to make working new condition computers and sell them. I have built over 25 pcs this way. The intel processors seem to be in better shape when we get them. The AMD processors are usually dead when we get them. I like intel. I have used it on my pcs, it works, has never failed me, and hey, dont fix what aint broke. My vote is Intel, but do what your comfortable with. If you had good AMD experiences stick with it.
__________________

__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:31 AM   #742 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the 3400+ is a socket 754, so it'll always be a clawhammer. if you're not overclocking it, the stock heatsink will be fine.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 05:10 AM   #743 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 156
Default

Right okay!!!

Listen up guys!

AMD waste Intel at everything!

The only reason why'd you would get Intel is video editing/encoding

AT GAMING the AMD CPU's waste Intel, mate!, if you can and make sure it's AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego!

Also about the RAM one gig is perfect for gaming, for server hosting and video editing 2 gig comes in!
AuBrEy Online is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 05:44 AM   #744 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Please provide more information about AMD
lamdck is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 05:55 AM   #745 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default Comp. Accessories To Sell

Lower Pirce Comp. Accessories for Sales.

Interested, please ask for Price List.
lamdck is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 06:28 AM   #746 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

SPAM!
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 03:22 PM   #747 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by crazyb8ss
I work the computer section of a huge garage sale my church does where we take donated computers, mix and match to make working new condition computers and sell them. I have built over 25 pcs this way. The intel processors seem to be in better shape when we get them. The AMD processors are usually dead when we get them. I like intel. I have used it on my pcs, it works, has never failed me, and hey, dont fix what aint broke. My vote is Intel, but do what your comfortable with. If you had good AMD experiences stick with it.
the reason you don't get new AMD chips is cuz ppl who have them like them, and they don't want to give them away... ppl who use Intel donate them cuz they are pieces of crap and they need to get a new chip every 3 seconds in order to keep up...
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 04:26 PM   #748 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

You cannot justify the quality of todays processors with processors from 8-10 years ago. Lol, the 486's and P1's could stand a lot.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 05:12 PM   #749 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

they're so simple... I don't see how a heck of a lot could go wrong with those things, especially models they made for a few years. they're bulletproof. We have K6 piece of garbage downstairs running windows xp, so go figure. It's slow by anyone's standards, but it runs and gets to the internet eventually.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 05:33 PM   #750 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

that's why you don't put win xp on old chips... you can't teach old dogs new tricks... the CPU will be just as fast as when you got it, if you give it the same software...
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.