AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 74 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2005, 04:43 PM   #731 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

can you get motherboards for intels pentium m donthan chips? Coz i heard they are good overclockers.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 09:39 PM   #732 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

"Basically, Pentiums give you slightly higher performance for a huge increase in price, and are known to be better with high-demand apps than AMD, whereas AMD is generally considered better for gaming.
AMDs are also known to run a little bit hotter

I think if you're on a budget, gaming only with your PC, or looking for a high performance/cost ratio you should get an AMD.
If you have a lot of money to spend and you run a lot of taxing progs, go Intel.

People argue over this topic day in and day out and solve absolutely nothing. It might as well be an argument between religions or politics."AMDs are also known to run a little bit hotter

wat are you talking about. the only reason im gonig with amd cause its better then intel * i been with intel for my whole life and now im switching*( ALL THE WASTED YEARS) and its good for gaming and it runs cooler then intel WAT DO YOU MEAN IT RUNS HOTTER
__________________

PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 09:52 PM   #733 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Yeah, everyone knows the prescott cores run hella hot, which's why their stock HSF is much more highly developped than the amd one. I mean, look at the amd one for crying out loud. It's small, doesn't look like it's worth more than $10. The P4 needs a damn expensive stock HSF solution. So yes, if you used the same cooling solution on both an amd and an intel, no doupt in my mind the amd's would be cooler.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 12:56 PM   #734 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Umm, dude AMD's run hotter than Intel. If you used the same HSF that AMD uses on an Intel, the Intel would be cooler...ROFL dude...
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 02:05 PM   #735 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Hmm, it seems no one has really done benchmarks with the an equivalent P4 and AMD cpu. I scavenged for an actual site with benchmarks for HSF's where they matched the same cooler with amd and intel, and couldn't find any, but luckly there was a site that has tested HSF's on AMD's and Intels at different times. Now this does give some hint that intel was cooler before the new prescott core, also note that the Intel p4 was only 2.4GHz, and the amd was an Athalon64 3000+:
http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=get...93&articID=224 (<< that's a lot of tests eh? and there's even a last page. crazy.)

and

http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=get...94&articID=245

Now, results I used:

Zalman CNPS 7700CU

AMD Athalon64 3000+: 62.4ºC, 35 @ 40cm (dBA)
Intel P4 2.4C: 48.7º, 35.8 @ 70cm (dBA)

Hmm, also note the Intel P4 tests were from farther away, so maybe at the same range as the AMD tests it would've been a bit louder, probably not that much though. ~4dBA.

If anyone has links to something like an AMD A64 3200+ and a P4 3.2GHz EE cpu going on testing HSF solutions? please link away.

I read up the THG for their latest AMD and Intel stress tests, they say the new Intel duel cores can take up to 30% more power consumption than AMD onna full load. So not only is the thing costly to buy, but even whilst owning it I'd be more expensive.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 08:09 PM   #736 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Athlon 64's run between 35 and 45 degrees (C) and the high-end ones like the X2's sometimes hitting 50, however it is not uncommon for the average Prescott to reach 70 degrees (C)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 02:13 PM   #737 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

prescotts = frying pans
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 04:32 PM   #738 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

hey, first time posting in this thread. Fellas, I've got a question for those of you who have HAD the Athlon 64 3400. Did you need anything more than the standard heat-sink and fan if you're NOT overclocking? Just wondering if it's an issue if you're running it stock.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 08:46 PM   #739 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

depends on the socket and core that you have... venice cores don't heat up as much
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:35 PM   #740 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I think it's the newcastle. whatever the socket 754 is.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.