AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 70 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2005, 09:02 PM   #691 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

dang, this is getting slow.. common guys, our goal is 1000 posts on this thread... TF rules!!
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 02:03 AM   #692 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Well, whats your opinion on the FX 57?
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 08:14 PM   #693 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

it rules, but i'll still go with the X2... if i was only a gamer, i would get the FX57, but i'm doing apps and stuff, so X2 would suit me more..
i wonder how much you can overclock that chip...
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 08:34 PM   #694 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 30
Default Re: AMD Processor vs. Pentium Processor

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake-Eyes
Hi I just joined and I have a few questions. Are AMD processors any better than a Pentium? Is the switch from Pentium to AMD smooth? I was looking at getting a new computer and I was introduced to an AMD processor so I was a little intrugued. Please nothing too in-depth, I'm just starting out in the PC world. At the moment, i'm looking at a 3200+ AMD processor (got a quote and the guy didn't write down the full name of hardly any thing).


the full computer setup is this (the quote was written down as this):

NVidia 6800 GT 256MB video card
2048MB PC3200 DDR RAM
S939 3200+
S939 K8NS Ultra MB
240GB RAIDED SATA
16x Dual Layer DVD+RW
Windows XP
ATX case
500W power supply
17" LCD monitor

Is this good to run the newest games like Doom 3, Half-life 2, etc? Also, do you think i should get a better processor?
excaliber is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 02:56 AM   #695 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pc_boy
it rules, but i'll still go with the X2... if i was only a gamer, i would get the FX57, but i'm doing apps and stuff, so X2 would suit me more..
i wonder how much you can overclock that chip...
I'd like to see how far they overclock also.
I expect they won't overclock as well, since they'll be putting out more heat from the 2 cores
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 02:44 PM   #696 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
I'd like to see how far they overclock also.
I expect they won't overclock as well, since they'll be putting out more heat from the 2 cores
actually, they might overclock more, since you can overclock each core.. i agree it would put more heat, but that's why you need a good cooling system. I herd Toledo is a good and efficient core, based on the Venice...
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 03:59 PM   #697 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Would it be worth it to put a AMD Athlon 64 X2 in a computer for graphic designing and gaming? i'm sure you would be able to multitask like crazy. And since its duel cores, what are the two cores? ex: venice, toledo??
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 10:43 PM   #698 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 154
Default

AMD accuses Dixons of colluding with Intel on chips.

http://techplanetnews.blogspot.com/2...ding-with.html
__________________
My Blog---http://techplanetnews.blogspot.com/
The 4 largest search engines on the web are:
1. Google 56.9%
2. Yahoo 21.2%
3. MSN Search 8.9%
4. AOL Search 3.2%
Vincenzo is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 01:19 PM   #699 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Hehehe! one of the great computer wars: AMD vs Intel. This thread already has a lot of posts to it. I'm in full agreement with True_orb on page 1 (heh, diddn't read the others cause I diddn't feel like reading a lot unless its my own posts.. I've gotta little ego prob on forums, lol...) so I say amd is for gaming and yes they do run a little hot, but careful, I heard some of the intel stock heatsink/fans have probs with cooling, but I'm sure if ya buy one that's relatively new, like 1/2 a year old at the most, that you should be ok. Anywho, excellent 3rd party cooling solutions arent' too bad nowadays cause you can pick up a great heatpipe setup for around $50 cad. Yes, heatpipe has replaced the basic heatsink. remember that.

Now, if you do check benchmarks, amd's do tend to do worse on multimedia stuff like encoding, but by maybe 20 seconds at the most.. so if you're not one of those "every second I waste is a second I'll never get back in my life," then the price gap between amd an intel for a couple of seconds lost ain't too shabby now eh?

[EDIT]
btw, the FX57 is probably the best, and probably the last single core processor. I know it tends to come very close to the x2. Check out www.tomshardware.com for a little write up for it. Ok, I'mma bit of an amd fanboy, but you gotta admit, them Texan's know how to cook up a mean cpu.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 07:03 PM   #700 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

A friend of mine who recently built a Athlon 64 3500+ system said to me that if he had the change to build a completely new system right now, he would build it with a Intel chip. His reason was something like the Intel Midrange chips are cheaper or some crap.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.