AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 69 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2005, 05:38 PM   #681 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to SHOCK3R WOLF
Default

Now, I have another question, I just built my computer with a ABIT Fatal1ty AN8 SLI MoBo, an AMD Athlon 64 FX53, and my GPU is ASUS 6800 256MB(plain 6800). Now if I would like to add the second GPU to use the SLI capability, does it has to be the same GPU, or is it possible to use let's say, a 6800 GT or Ultra? or is like using dual channel memories?
__________________

SHOCK3R WOLF is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 05:59 PM   #682 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Same. Exactly. Brand and card type.
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:02 PM   #683 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

i wouldn't do SLI, i would just switch the vid card in like 5 months... it won't give you that much more improvement if you do SLI...
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 12:10 AM   #684 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to SHOCK3R WOLF
Default

oh, thanks for the answers
SHOCK3R WOLF is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 10:45 PM   #685 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

check benchmarks at tomshardware.com or anandtech.com
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 11:48 PM   #686 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I don't trust tom's benches.
he seems to be Intel and ATI biased
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 09:46 AM   #687 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

everything is biased.
str8lazy is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 09:51 AM   #688 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

not everything, but Tom's is
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:58 PM   #689 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i wonder how much ATI/Intel Pays good 'ol tom.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 06:40 PM   #690 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

lol i go to hardocp is that ok?
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.