AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 66 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2005, 02:25 AM   #651 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

how do the X2's peform?
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:48 AM   #652 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

depends on the application.
the apps designed to run on dual CPU's will excel
the apps not designed to run on dual CPU's will not change much
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 03:02 AM   #653 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

what are some apps that support dual cores? does windows utilise it?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 03:27 AM   #654 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

windows does, however most programs it runs do not
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 03:30 AM   #655 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

mmmmm dual core. to expensive, darn
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 03:37 AM   #656 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i might get a dual core eventually if i have the money
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:45 AM   #657 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if I had the money, I'd have a quad Opteron 852 and dual 6800 Ultra setup
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:27 AM   #658 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

is there any 4x motherboards with dual PCI-E. When i looked into that a while ago not many boards had good graphics options on them.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 06:17 AM   #659 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I know there's a quad 940 motherboard from Tyan, no AGP or PCI-E 16x though. only onboard.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:44 PM   #660 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

this one has 2c PCI X 16

http://www.tyan.com/products/html/thunderk8se.html
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.