AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2004, 06:44 PM   #51 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: AMD Processor vs. Pentium Processor

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake-Eyes
Hi I just joined and I have a few questions. Are AMD processors any better than a Pentium? Is the switch from Pentium to AMD smooth? I was looking at getting a new computer and I was introduced to an AMD processor so I was a little intrugued. Please nothing too in-depth, I'm just starting out in the PC world. At the moment, i'm looking at a 3200+ AMD processor (got a quote and the guy didn't write down the full name of hardly any thing).


the full computer setup is this (the quote was written down as this):

NVidia 6800 GT 256MB video card
2048MB PC3200 DDR RAM
S939 3200+
S939 K8NS Ultra MB
240GB RAIDED SATA
16x Dual Layer DVD+RW
Windows XP
ATX case
500W power supply
17" LCD monitor

Is this good to run the newest games like Doom 3, Half-life 2, etc? Also, do you think i should get a better processor?
nice comp man!!!!
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 06:46 PM   #52 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kadahaf
Gaming=AMD

anything else...=....Intel

Sorry uncle Bill
Back yourself up man, before I make a good comeback! jk, but do back yourself up
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 06:51 PM   #53 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 73
Default

indeed, that is one nice computer... wish i had enough bling to get something like that. guess i gotta stick with what i have! =]
__________________
<font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana\"><Color=\"red\">Under The Hood</font></color>
Blake is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 12:06 AM   #54 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

amd i best for gaming and thats hands down. look at any gaming forum(besides this one) and you will see that they all run amd(well most of them).
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 12:16 AM   #55 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
amd i best for gaming and thats hands down. look at any gaming forum(besides this one) and you will see that they all run amd(well most of them).
i hardly call that hard facts AMD is better. most gamers run AMD because they can't afford Intel rig's and want the best performing rig they can have that fits there budgets.

You will see ALOT of XP line gaming machines (considered old/outdated now), and now you will see more A64 machines coming up. A decent P4 overclocked rig will out do certain A64's in the hands of a non-overclocker/beginner, i still see that (especially with the 754sockets). It's only when overclocked or tweaked that an A64 will really shine against the higher rates P4's. Modestly overclocked and tweaked the A64 will perform much better...but that takes time/money/alot of knowledge/and a pretty big risk (i dunno about you but gettin a $3K rig one day and frying it the next would PISS me off...)

the A64 style of overclocking is alot different than the older XP line and it can be "tricky". they also seem to be very picky about what memory they will overclock with best.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 12:28 AM   #56 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

My friends AMD FX-55 will smoke any P4 rig out there. Espeacially w/ the money hes put into it. And i think hes just gonna keep updating it as technology gets better(ie FX-57 and so on).
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 01:13 AM   #57 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

like that system, good choice. Nabye a 3500+ s939
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 03:15 AM   #58 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

whos mine? im working on getting a s939. ive already ordered the board.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 11:39 AM   #59 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
My friends AMD FX-55 will smoke any P4 rig out there. Espeacially w/ the money hes put into it. And i think hes just gonna keep updating it as technology gets better(ie FX-57 and so on).
lol notice how i said socket 754 A64's, and ones that were not overclocked. A top of the line FX-55 and overclocked will definetly be at the top. even not overclocked i think it is up there. but like you said so is the price (well you kinda said it...) lol
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:37 PM   #60 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Which is better for all around performance though??
YB
__________________

__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.