AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 50 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2005, 10:19 AM   #491 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

From what I understand the Intel's HT is actually a fix for a screw up in the netburst design, specifically cache misses due to the long pipeline and the high latency. So basically its not like you are getting extra performance, it is the performance that your supposed to be getting anyway. I just thought that you guyz would like to know that.

So basically AMD has no need for HT because they have a smaller and more effiecent pipeline architecture. I am sure that they have a very small amount of cache missing, slowing the processor down a minuet amount (probably hardly measureable). But that thesis is only correct providing that the information that I have is correct.

And another side note that is my personal opinion.

If HT was embedded into the architecture, AMD would totally own, because I am sure that their processor power would be close to doubling, but they dont do this because the cost to benefit ratio doesnt balance out.

And that is were the dual core processing comes into play.
__________________

str8lazy is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 05:35 PM   #492 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

By the way... I was off that one day I said I thought the 3.2/3200+ was the sweet spot. I did the math today, and the 2800+/2.8 GHz are far better for the dollar. I can't find my paper work, but I think it was something like 24 MHz for each dollar, compared to the 12 MHz per dollar the 3200+ gets. I used March figures for OEM processors bought in 1000 unit bundles In anycase, just thought I'd correct a mistake on my part.
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 06:46 PM   #493 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Ya, but these days, its prolly better to have at least a P4 3.0ghz.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 10:02 PM   #494 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

OH GOD!!!! WHAT IF INTEL BOUGHT AMD!!! . End Of the world
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 12:22 AM   #495 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
OH GOD!!!! WHAT IF INTEL BOUGHT AMD!!! . End Of the world
Then all the amd engineers would be working for intel and they wouldnt suck so bad anymore.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 12:58 AM   #496 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

lol, good one
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 03:56 AM   #497 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FadingTheory
But those CPUs rely on redunduncy (more then one processor). No AMD CPU has hyper threading, correct?
actually any opteron in the 2xx series and 8xx series can do the same thing hyperthreading does, although they don't give it the name "hyperthreading" or anything fancy like that. only the 1xx series opterons do not have the multi-way support.
Opteron 2xx processors are 2-way (2 virtual CPU's per 1 physical CPU)
Opteron 8xx CPU's are 8-way (8 virtual CPU's per 1 physical CPU)

you can have up to 2 Opterons in one board if any of them are in the 1xx or 2xx series
that means you can have 2 physical X 2 virtual per physical CPU = 4 virtual CPU's if they are both in the 2xx series

you can also have up to 4 Opterons in one board if all are in the 8xx series
4 physical CPU's X 8 virtual per physical CPU's = 32 virtual processors!!!
that's no typo either!!

although if you actually did buy 4 Opteron 8xx CPU's, it would cost a significant amount of money. I believe the only quad 940 board out ATM is from Tyan, which costs about $1500 US (that's just the motherboard!!)

the cheapest Opteron in the 8xx series is the 840, which costs at least $770 each.
now, 770 x 4 + 1500 = $4580
and that's with the lowest end of the 8xx series opterons
if you got the highest end, the 852 it would cost $1474 for each CPU (from monarchcomputer.com, about $300 cheaper than the only other place I saw it)
$1474 x 4 + $1500 = $7396
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 06:25 AM   #498 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Wow, I didn't know Opterions worked that way.

Cool.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 07:21 PM   #499 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

That is pretty cool, I am glad that you brought that to our attention.
str8lazy is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 12:40 AM   #500 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

WOW! Intel are really behind! AMD ownz INTEL MUAHAHHA!!!
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.