AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 43 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2005, 01:00 AM   #421 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jakeslake
well....
am am just finishing up my new computer
i chose intel...
but all together it was $530
whad ya think? ll
V
...and... how much does it suck???? ..compared to an athlon system for $530???

ok, there HAS been proof that AMD just PWNS intel right in the @$$, it's just that people who have intel won't admit that their computer sucks, it's ok, it's human nature, i mean you don't want to make yourself look stupid, even if in your mind you know that your intel is $#it and you want an AMD. It is kind of like PS2 vs. Xbox, my friend keeps arguing that PS2 is better but he has no proof, till one day I showed him the real specs fo the systems, i didn't even comment, now he knows the real answer, something I could have told him before... and I did, but he didn't accept it..
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 01:31 AM   #422 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default

woah man chill out
__________________

jakeslake is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 03:30 AM   #423 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Quote:
ok, there HAS been proof that AMD just PWNS intel right in the @$$, it's just that people who have intel won't admit that their computer sucks, it's ok, it's human nature, i mean you don't want to make yourself look stupid, even if in your mind you know that your intel is $#it and you want an AMD. It is kind of like PS2 vs. Xbox, my friend keeps arguing that PS2 is better but he has no proof, till one day I showed him the real specs fo the systems, i didn't even comment, now he knows the real answer, something I could have told him before... and I did, but he didn't accept it..
Hey calm down, we dont wanna start a flame war.

When i bought my console, i had a choice, PS2 or XBOX. I Knew XBOX has way better specs, but i simply liked the games on PS2 better, thats what it comes down to.

Im sure he has a reason for buying Intel on such a cheap system. Hes probly not a gamer so the real performance increases of AMD wont be so evident because games is where AMD shines.

Wayne
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 11:33 AM   #424 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default amd?

i am not at all saying that i dont like amd.. i want to. but in the past i had amd durron (~$30) i was being a chepo. and it broke in 4 months, and then i got another amd cpu for the pc (~$40) and within a week it broke. i dont understand, they were all cheap, not in a box but i dont want a system to be unstable if i get a new one.

here is why im saying this, im going to build a comp for my cusin (gaming pc) and i would like to put good graphics in it but i just made a pc for my aunt with intel's lga 775 prescott 3.0ghz and it is kepping up in the 150's temp... its running stabble.. i guess but i dont like it that high temp.. so any way i would put him up with the older 478 socket intel but it does not support pci-e and it sounds like thats great for graphics cards. this system is going to cost ~$2000 so give me any solutions, exept water cooling , i dont wanna deal with that. e-mail me if you want at fire_the_samuel@yahoo.com
samuel is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 12:55 PM   #425 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default

2000 dollars, go with an amd based system...
Panther5060 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 02:48 PM   #426 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: amd?

Quote:
Originally posted by samuel
i am not at all saying that i dont like amd.. i want to. but in the past i had amd durron (~$30) i was being a chepo. and it broke in 4 months, and then i got another amd cpu for the pc (~$40) and within a week it broke. i dont understand, they were all cheap, not in a box but i dont want a system to be unstable if i get a new one.
if you only pay 30 bucks for a cpu, don't expect to do anything... if you were gonna buy an Intel for $30 it would break down in one day, at least the AMD lasted for a week...
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 02:50 PM   #427 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
Hey calm down, we dont wanna start a flame war.

When i bought my console, i had a choice, PS2 or XBOX. I Knew XBOX has way better specs, but i simply liked the games on PS2 better, thats what it comes down to.

Im sure he has a reason for buying Intel on such a cheap system. Hes probly not a gamer so the real performance increases of AMD wont be so evident because games is where AMD shines.

Wayne
hey, i used consoles as an example... but in case you didn't know, PC games run on both AMD and Intel, so you can't say you like some games so that is why you go with Intel...
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 04:18 PM   #428 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

if ur gonna game, AMD has burned intel in practiclly every gaming test.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 04:22 PM   #429 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Quote:
hey, i used consoles as an example... but in case you didn't know, PC games run on both AMD and Intel, so you can't say you like some games so that is why you go with Intel...
Yes but not all PS2 games are on XBOX, and vice versa.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 05:24 PM   #430 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default Re: Re: amd?

Quote:
Originally posted by pc_boy
if you only pay 30 bucks for a cpu, don't expect to do anything... if you were gonna buy an Intel for $30 it would break down in one day, at least the AMD lasted for a week...
talk about biased. I have an intel p1 233 from 94 i think and its still working, i paid $3 for it. I also have a k6-2+ from around that time so ya, who made the cpu has no effect on its lifetime, its all silicone/metal/plastic.

Quote:
Originally posted by dhw200
if ur gonna game, AMD has burned intel in practiclly every gaming test.
people still dont look at those pentium mobile benchmarks
__________________

Panther5060 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.