AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2004, 06:10 PM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blake
Correct me if i'm wrong, but i heard from other people that AMD cpus tend to run hotter than intel chips because intel cpu's have better cooling methods? again correct me if i'm wrong. I just want to confirm if thats true?
somewhat true. Intels do tend to run cooler than AMD processors. But it isn't cuz' Intel "cooiling methods" are better.

Intel chips can run at less voltage than AMD chips most of the time...but that's because they do less work per clock cycle than AMD and don't need as much power to stay stable.

Aftermarket coolers are not related to Intel or AMD, so they can't be tied into the equation. That's what REALLY makes a difference in temperatures.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 07:25 PM   #32 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 73
Default

so AMD is capable of processing way more stuff than intels can?

interesting.. i never knew that... =]

but then again, the hotter the chip.. the shorter its lifespan??
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana\"><Color=\"red\">Under The Hood</font></color>
Blake is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 07:29 PM   #33 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blake
so AMD is capable of processing way more stuff than intels can?

interesting.. i never knew that... =]

but then again, the hotter the chip.. the shorter its lifespan??
not not necessarily. AMD's get pwned in multi-media calculations compared to Intel. AMD is usually for GAMing, Intel for media apps and stuff.

and again...the chip isn't necessarily HOT because it's an AMD. I am running 27C @ 2.5GHz...this chip will last a long time. and even running 45C all day long it should last a good 5+ yrs. at least.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 07:32 PM   #34 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 73
Default

45..? isn't that hotter than average?
__________________
<font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana\"><Color=\"red\">Under The Hood</font></color>
Blake is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 07:52 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blake
45..? isn't that hotter than average?
below 50C is considered "safe" in most circumstances. My chip can run 100C before it will either fry or damage. Hottest i've ever had it was 63C on stock cooling.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 02:51 PM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

will ALL AMD processors run with Windows XP Home?
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 09:37 PM   #37 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake-Eyes
will ALL AMD processors run with Windows XP Home?
uh yah...dont matter what CPU you have XP is compatible with anything. I suggest Professional edition though...
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 09:58 PM   #38 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

this is a topic where noone will give you an honest answer. all amd users will say amds are better and all the intel users say intels are better. i dont see what the big deal is none of us is gettin paid to promote these companies so why stress it. use what you wanna use and thats it. they both have fast expensive chips as well as cheaper slower ones. overall amd is lower in price but not by as much as used to be the case. you can build a ridiculously good computer using either of these cpus.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 10:04 PM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jblaze725
this is a topic where noone will give you an honest answer. all amd users will say amds are better and all the intel users say intels are better. i dont see what the big deal is none of us is gettin paid to promote these companies so why stress it. use what you wanna use and thats it. they both have fast expensive chips as well as cheaper slower ones. overall amd is lower in price but not by as much as used to be the case. you can build a ridiculously good computer using either of these cpus.
well pretty much true, i think ive provided a fair answer and un-biased explanation. Intel is better in multi-media and AMD is generally know for being better in games. AMD is usually cheaper while an Intel rig performing the same will cost you a lil' more. But if you want to photo edit/video edit or something huge like that an Intel will usually prove better in the end, if you don't skimp on hardware.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 03:20 AM   #40 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

U talked about the AMD's running hotter than the P4 but with the release of the Prescot that would seem to no longer be the case. AMD has got no better in the department but P4's have got worse
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.