AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 39 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2005, 05:33 AM   #381 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jnev_89
are you talking about emt64?? the lowest chip is a 3ghz and is about $200-210.


btw, i'm kinda beginning to regret that i got intel over amd... with xp64 coming out and linux already supporting 64bit, i kinda wish i had gotten at least an emt64 cpu (they came out a week after i ordered my cpu). i'm notediting photos/movies as much as i had previously hoped so it's kind of a waste...

ah well, what's done is done.
dude, by the time 64bit windows is standard, your current computer will be long gone. Anyway, its not like anyone upgrades OS w/o upgrading their computer.
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:43 AM   #382 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i would
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:49 AM   #383 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

ok.. when longhorn comes out lets see you use ur current computer for it
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 06:07 AM   #384 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I believe 32-bit and 64-bit are native to Athlon 64's
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 06:34 AM   #385 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Quote:
ok.. when longhorn comes out lets see you use ur current computer for it
I will, i was even planning to download the beta off Bittorrent

I heard that the minimum requitements will be around double XP
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 12:42 PM   #386 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default

this is a dumb arguement, agree to disagree

6 months from now intel could be leading the way, tomorrow they could be leading the way, hell 5 minutes from now they could be leading the way.

or... amd could still be in the lead, all depends
Panther5060 is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 05:44 PM   #387 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

.. like that hasn't been said already!!

but that guy i said about his 3200+ laggin with norton n stuff.. kinda gets made up for in games... i saw it play in a game, same settings as me.. its awesome

so ill admit that amd definently are superior fro games.. but mulittasking, i think theres more to be done from amd
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 05:45 PM   #388 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Panther5060
this is a dumb arguement, agree to disagree

6 months from now intel could be leading the way, tomorrow they could be leading the way, hell 5 minutes from now they could be leading the way.

or... amd could still be in the lead, all depends
I agree with what has been said about this being a dumb post.

What can be said about AMD vs Intel has already been said, many times over.

Perhaps it is time for the forum admin to lay this topic to rest ?
__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 10:33 PM   #389 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

AMD

64-bit

cheaper

faster gaming

better
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 11:28 AM   #390 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

AMD by far out ranks Intell,in the benchmark tests.Also in AMD core programing comes with 3D-Now! and 3D-Now!+,at which Intell does not.AMD also handles games like a champ.
__________________

__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.