AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 37 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2005, 12:17 AM   #361 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I think socket 939 coolers can be put on socket 940

Quote:
Originally posted by alfa_375
Intel is the best of all but I hear some people really
like AMD processors specially the lates one.
that's really an opinion.
I would have to say that Intel is not best of all, but are good nonetheless
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 12:19 AM   #362 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Xeon != 940
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 12:21 AM   #363 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by senseless
Xeon != 940
no, AMD Opteron = 940
Intel Xeon = socket 603/604

a quick google will tell you
http://www.google.com.au/search?num=...G=Search&meta=

note, Google uses the "." as a single character wild card
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 12:22 AM   #364 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

nvm, i thought you were talking to me.

!= = not equal to
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 12:23 AM   #365 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by senseless
nvm, i thought you were talking to me.

!= = not equal to
oh ok

you could use "≠"
which is alt + 8800
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 12:51 AM   #366 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default

Yeah but != is used in programming.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 12:55 AM   #367 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I haven't done any programming, I'm used to using ≠ because I do a lot of Maths
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 12:57 AM   #368 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default

Cool.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 02:35 PM   #369 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 47
Default

the current A64s spank the P4 for gaming and most every other area. But the P4 does still outperform the A64 in a few cases, but those ARE the minority.

The Opteron, due to its price, is the best server proc. It hands the Xeon its @$$, and is neck to neck with the Itanic. But, the Itanic costs SO MUCH MORE, that the Opteron wins due to being cheaper while offering the same performance.

Nuff said.
retherfordaehs is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 11:29 PM   #370 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

from what I've heard, the Itanium 1 is such a crappy processor, and that's why it didn't sell
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.